Parliament Website

Tax On Banks

EDM number 350 in 2015-16, proposed by Alan Meale on 20/07/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Financial institutions and Taxation.

That this House is aware that in the last Budget discussions the Chancellor announced changes to the bank levy which will mean in the long term such institutions will pay less, contrary to promises he made before the last election that in future they would be required to pay higher, fairer levels of taxation; notes the financial sector already receives a generous Too big to fail subsidy and VAT exemption which has already allowed them to absorb recent record-breaking fines for their misbehaviour, alongside obscene increased levels of bonus payments; and believes that the Government should seriously consider adopting the following European tax on banks currently being negotiated by Germany, France, Spain and eight other countries, known as the Robin Hood tax, and reminds the Chancellor that the UK already has a similar tax, stamp duty on share purchases, which currently raises around £3 billion a year despite being restricted in scope.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Alan Meale20/07/2015MansfieldLabourProposed
David Crausby20/07/2015Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan20/07/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Margaret Ritchie20/07/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
John McDonnell20/07/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Dennis Skinner21/07/2015BolsoverLabourSeconded
David Anderson21/07/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn21/07/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Richard Burgon21/07/2015Leeds EastLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas21/07/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Liz Saville Roberts21/07/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Michael Weir21/07/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards21/07/2015Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Paul Monaghan21/07/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma21/07/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Jim Shannon21/07/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins07/09/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Rachael Maskell07/09/2015York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Chris Law07/09/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson08/09/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Chris Stephens08/09/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell08/09/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Peter Grant08/09/2015GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan08/09/2015East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff11/09/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Paul Flynn15/09/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Owen Thompson16/09/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Hepburn12/10/2015JarrowLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.