Parliament Website

Ticket Touting

EDM number 540 in 2015-16, proposed by Gavin Newlands on 19/10/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Consumers, Leisure and Regulation.

That this House believes that ticket touting benefits neither customers, fans, athletes, artists nor the groups and venues involved in the organisation and staging of cultural and sporting events; notes that ticket touts are people who deliberately purchase tickets for an event in bulk with the shameless aim to sell them at an obscene profit; recognises the efforts of the hon. Member for Washington and Sunderland West, the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Ticket Abuse and other hon. Members to end this unscrupulous practice; further recognises the need for individuals to be able to re-sell tickets for events that they can no longer attend; supports the introduction of a cap that would ban tickets being re-sold at more than 10 per cent of their original selling price; and calls on the Government to bring forward legislation that would properly regulate the secondary ticket market to protect fans from the worse practices of ticket touts.

This motion has been signed by a total of 49 MPs.

Gavin Newlands19/10/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartyProposed
Ronnie Cowan19/10/2015InverclydeScottish National PartySeconded
Paul Monaghan19/10/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySeconded
Philippa Whitford19/10/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySeconded
Alan Brown19/10/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySeconded
Calum Kerr19/10/2015Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Marion Fellows19/10/2015Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson19/10/2015StirlingScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson19/10/2015East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black19/10/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray19/10/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford19/10/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson19/10/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald19/10/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan19/10/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman19/10/2015Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Callum McCaig19/10/2015Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald19/10/2015Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell19/10/2015LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil19/10/2015Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day19/10/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh19/10/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin19/10/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan19/10/2015East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir19/10/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Angus Robertson19/10/2015MorayScottish National PartySigned
Stewart Hosie19/10/2015Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Eilidh Whiteford19/10/2015Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts20/10/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Alison Thewliss20/10/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale20/10/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Shannon20/10/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
John McNally20/10/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Mark Durkan21/10/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Lisa Cameron21/10/2015East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry22/10/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry22/10/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Ian Mearns22/10/2015GatesheadLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell22/10/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris Law22/10/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff22/10/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Stuart Donaldson22/10/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi26/10/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Hywel Williams27/10/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Stephens27/10/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson28/10/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock29/10/2015Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Albert Owen04/11/2015Ynys MLabourSigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.