Parliament Website

Suffragette Oak: Scotland's Tree Of The Year 2015

EDM number 618 in 2015-16, proposed by Alison Thewliss on 28/10/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Cultural heritage, Equality and Forestry.

That this House notes with delight the awarding of the title Woodland Trust Scottish Tree of the Year 2015 to the Suffragette Oak in Glasgow's Kelvingrove Park; recognises that the tree was planted by suffrage organisations on 20 April 1918 to mark women gaining the right to vote earlier that year; congratulates Glasgow Women's Library on its work to raise the profile of the Suffragette Oak and its part in the women's history of Glasgow; and wishes the Suffragette Oak campaigners every success in the forthcoming 2016 European Tree of the Year competition.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

Alison Thewliss28/10/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartyProposed
Margaret Ferrier28/10/2015Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySeconded
Joanna Cherry28/10/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Neil Gray28/10/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySeconded
Michelle Thomson28/10/2015Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySeconded
Marion Fellows28/10/2015Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySeconded
Tasmina Sheikh28/10/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson28/10/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady28/10/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens28/10/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant28/10/2015GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley28/10/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir28/10/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan28/10/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale29/10/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Brendan O'Hara29/10/2015Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts29/10/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Shannon29/10/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Jonathan Edwards29/10/2015Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Martyn Day29/10/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan29/10/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands02/11/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald03/11/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty03/11/2015West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan03/11/2015East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron03/11/2015East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law03/11/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford03/11/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford04/11/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins05/11/2015North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock05/11/2015Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi20/11/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Alan Brown25/11/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Richard Arkless25/11/2015Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson26/11/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.