Parliament Website

Scotland's Most Improved Towns

EDM number 706 in 2015-16, proposed by Kirsten Oswald on 16/11/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Planning and Regeneration.

That this House welcomes the introduction by the Scottish Urban Regeneration Forum of an annual award for Scotland's most improved small or medium-sized town; recognises that Barrhead has undergone a major transformation in recent years with its town centre benefiting from a £100 million council-led regeneration, with investments including Barrhead Foundry multi-purpose learning, leisure and business centre, new offices for East Renfrewshire Council, a health and care centre, a town centre supermarket and other improvements such as new street furniture and signage; looks forward to the continued improvement of Barrhead, with plans for a wide range of further initiatives including retail, business and leisure projects, a new residential development and the provision of a new railway station; and notes that for communities in need of improvement, especially those emerging from intensive industrial activity, public sector investment, such as that in Barrhead, can play a vital role in providing private sector investors with the confidence to contribute to the regeneration process.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

Kirsten Oswald16/11/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartyProposed
Gavin Newlands16/11/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Stuart McDonald16/11/2015Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySeconded
Drew Hendry16/11/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySeconded
Phil Boswell16/11/2015Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySeconded
Ronnie Cowan16/11/2015InverclydeScottish National PartySeconded
Patrick Grady16/11/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson16/11/2015StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Callum McCaig16/11/2015Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon17/11/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Martyn Day17/11/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell18/11/2015LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Keith Vaz18/11/2015Leicester EastLabourSigned
Neil Gray18/11/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan18/11/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry18/11/2015Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens18/11/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss25/11/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law26/11/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson26/11/2015Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson03/12/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.