Parliament Website

Most Improved Large Town In Scotland

EDM number 906 in 2015-16, proposed by Alan Brown on 17/12/2015.

That this House congratulates Kilmarnock in winning the SURF award for being Scotland's most improved large town; pays tribute to the work of the SNP-led East Ayrshire Councils for leading in the regeneration work; applauds particularly the restoration of the derelict Opera House listed building, ignored by previous councils; welcomes that the re-landscaped Bank Street assisting to attract businesses; recognises the partnership work with the Town Centre Retailers Association, the Kilmarnock Station Railways Heritage Trust and the CVO; further welcomes the town centre council house development schemes at Portland Street, West Langlands Street and Rennie Street and East Ayrshire Council's office strategy to ensure as many people access the town centre on a regular basis; notes that funding from the Scottish Government has allowed the CARS scheme to award grants to many town centre premises, preserving their future; and welcomes the improvements to the station clock, the railway viaduct, Palace Theatre and other capital investment schemes by East Ayrshire Council who have demonstrated that responsible long-term capital borrowing allows sensible infrastructure development and supports jobs.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Alan Brown17/12/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartyProposed
Philippa Whitford17/12/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySeconded
Margaret Ferrier17/12/2015Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySeconded
Deidre Brock17/12/2015Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySeconded
Patrick Grady17/12/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Ian Blackford17/12/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySeconded
Neil Gray05/01/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell05/01/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens05/01/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon05/01/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Martyn Day05/01/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
John McNally05/01/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh05/01/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows05/01/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law05/01/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson06/01/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss06/01/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir06/01/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond07/01/2016Signed
Martin Docherty11/01/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Keith Vaz11/01/2016Leicester EastLabourSigned
Brendan O'Hara11/01/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan12/01/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry12/01/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley18/01/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.