Parliament Website

Newsquest Titles In Glasgow

EDM number 954 in 2015-16, proposed by Chris Stephens on 13/01/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Employment and Press.

That this House regrets the decision of Newsquest to cut as many as 25 journalist posts at the Herald and Evening Times newspapers in Scotland, placing the titles' future at severe risk; notes that this is the fourth round of redundancies at the Glasgow newspapers in the last 14 months, and means there will now be fewer than half the journalists employed at the Herald, Sunday Herald and Evening Times compared to before Newsquest took over this historic Scottish publisher; is concerned that a further reduction in quality is inevitable as talented journalists lose their jobs and those remaining struggle with an increasing workload to gather and produce news and features that help the product; believes that pursuing unrealistic profit targets by constantly making cuts, instead of looking at innovative ways to improve the business, is not sustainable in the long term; and therefore calls on the new management team to ensure maximum consultation with the National Union of Journalists to avoid compulsory redundancies and give appropriate support to the workforce.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

Chris Stephens13/01/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartyProposed
Alison Thewliss13/01/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
George Kerevan13/01/2016East LothianScottish National PartySeconded
Tasmina Sheikh13/01/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySeconded
Ian Blackford13/01/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySeconded
Carol Monaghan13/01/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySeconded
Neil Gray14/01/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald14/01/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil14/01/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry14/01/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law14/01/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale14/01/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
John Nicolson18/01/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart18/01/2016Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin18/01/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady19/01/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
John McNally19/01/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley20/01/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands20/01/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald21/01/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day25/01/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock27/01/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.