Parliament Website

Palomares Anniversary

EDM number 986 in 2015-16, proposed by Owen Thompson on 20/01/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Arms control, North America and Western Europe.

That this House commemorates the 50th anniversary of the occasion on 17 January 1966 when an American B-52 bomber inadvertently dropped four nuclear bombs on Spain, after colliding with a refuelling tanker; notes that, although on that occasion fail-safe systems in the B28 hydrogen bombs worked resulting in none of the nuclear warheads detonating, the conventional explosions on two of these warheads scattered plutonium radiation across the countryside near the town of Palomares; further notes that the existence of nuclear weapons necessarily creates the possibility of accidents; and calls on the Government to increase the transparency of those safety measures that are in place on the regular occasions when nuclear warheads are transported on UK roads.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Owen Thompson20/01/2016MidlothianScottish National PartyProposed
Deidre Brock20/01/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens20/01/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Anne McLaughlin20/01/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySeconded
Calum Kerr20/01/2016Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Callum McCaig20/01/2016Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Steven Paterson20/01/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins20/01/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson20/01/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald20/01/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant20/01/2016GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty20/01/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson20/01/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law20/01/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Angus Robertson20/01/2016MorayScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir20/01/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan21/01/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts21/01/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Alison Thewliss21/01/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon21/01/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Kirsten Oswald21/01/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray22/01/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black22/01/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry22/01/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas22/01/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Angus MacNeil25/01/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day25/01/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins26/01/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
Ian Blackford26/01/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier26/01/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady27/01/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell27/01/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mark Durkan27/01/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh01/02/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry01/02/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan01/02/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson04/02/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.