Parliament Website

Trident Testing

EDM number 1017 in 2016-17, proposed by Kelvin Hopkins on 06/03/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Ballistic missile defence.

That this House notes the statement by the Secretary of State for Defence in a response to an Urgent Question on 23 January 2017 that, We do not comment on the detail of submarine operations, and his additional comment, Let me just be very, very clear: neither I, nor the Prime Minister, are going to give operational details of our submarine operations or of the systems and sub-systems that are tested through a demonstration and shakedown (DESO) operation; further notes that the then Defence Minister, the hon. Member for Ludlow provided details to the hon. Member for Brighton, Pavilion in a written reply on 19 November 2012, Officcial Report, Column 239W, of a DESO in the Atlantic Ocean on 23 October 2012; notes in a second written reply the Minister revealed that as the UK is a signatory to The Hague Code of Conduct against Ballistic Missile Proliferation it is obliged to inform the 133 other signatories of all ballistic missile and space-launch vehicle launches and test flights; believes it is unacceptable that the 133 other states were informed of the Trident test conducted in June 2016 but that the information was withheld from the House; and therefore calls on the Government to acknowledge that democratic principles require the Government to inform Parliament of such UK national security policy matters.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Kelvin Hopkins06/03/2017Luton NorthLabourProposed
Ronnie Cowan07/03/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySeconded
Paul Flynn07/03/2017Newport WestLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan07/03/2017FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Chris Stephens07/03/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Paul Monaghan08/03/2017Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySeconded
Margaret Ritchie08/03/2017South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alison Thewliss08/03/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford08/03/2017Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard08/03/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts08/03/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Michael Weir08/03/2017AngusScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell08/03/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas08/03/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Jonathan Edwards08/03/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
George Kerevan08/03/2017East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins20/03/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/03/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin20/03/2017Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell20/03/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray20/03/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell20/03/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil20/03/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond20/03/2017Signed
Brendan O'Hara21/03/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law21/03/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry22/03/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson22/03/2017MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson24/03/2017East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry29/03/2017Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands29/03/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Rachael Maskell30/03/2017York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.