Parliament Website

North Ayrshire Music Service

EDM number 135 in 2016-17, proposed by Patricia Gibson on 06/06/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Children and families, Performing arts and Schools.

That this House congratulates North Ayrshire Music Service on its many achievements during the 2015-16 school session, as it continues to offer fantastic opportunities for children to become involved in music-related activities in school and in extra-curricular environments; notes that funding from Creative Scotland Youth Music Initiative has allowed every primary school pupil in North Ayrshire and Arran to benefit from one year's free music tuition before they finish Primary 6; was pleased to hear that the North Ayrshire Schools' Senior Orchestra worked with professional musicians, the Telemann Ensemble, and performed a baroque music concert in Mansefield Trinity Church in Kilwinning in November 2015; acknowledges that the Pan Ayrshire Choir, a group of over 120 pupils from across three local authority groups, came together once more, this time to perform with the Military Wives Choir at the Grand Hall in Kilmarnock in April 2016, which was a huge success; was delighted to learn that Music Service instrumental instructors have been working with refugee children in Hayocks and Castlepark primary schools, offering string and pipe band drumming lessons, which have been very well received; further acknowledges that there are various other noteworthy successes that have been celebrated by the Music Service in 2015-16 including the Scottish Concert Band Festival, the Festive Strings Christmas Concert, a CD recording for Cash for Kids, and numerous other accomplishments; and wishes North Ayrshire Music Service every success in its future efforts in encouraging children to become involved in music-related activities.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Patricia Gibson06/06/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartyProposed
Deidre Brock06/06/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySeconded
Hannah Bardell06/06/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySeconded
John McNally06/06/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
John Nicolson06/06/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySeconded
Martyn Day07/06/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens07/06/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law07/06/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale08/06/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Ronnie Cowan08/06/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford08/06/2016Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh08/06/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley08/06/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald08/06/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan08/06/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson09/06/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins09/06/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson13/06/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan13/06/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson13/06/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady14/06/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry14/06/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray15/06/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown27/06/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.