Parliament Website

Royal Society Of Edinburgh Prizes

EDM number 157 in 2016-17, proposed by Chris Law on 07/06/2016.
Categorised under the topic of Science.

That this House congratulates three outstanding scientists from Dundee and St Andrews universities, each of whom has been awarded prizes from the Royal Society of Edinburgh; recognises Professor Geoffrey Gadd, a world pioneer in the field of geomicrobiology at the University of Dundee College of Life Sciences who has been awarded the highly prestigious Sir James Black prize; notes that his work has received international recognition for its application in areas such as pollution control and the development of new forms of energy storage; further recognises that Professor Nicola Stanley-Wall, also from the College of Life Sciences at Dundee University, has been awarded an early career prize for her outstanding research work into the industrial and medical applications of biofilms, her leadership skills and for the development of innovative ways to encourage young people to become more involved in science; recognises Dr Sharon Ashbrook, Reader in Physical Chemistry at St Andrews University, who won an award for her outstanding contribution to scientific quality and commitment to excellence in all areas of academic life; and further notes that their achievements reinforce the global role of Scottish universities in providing infrastructure and support that enable a new generation of scientists to undertake pioneering, cutting-edge global scientific research that has the potential to have a significant impact on many areas of contemporary life.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Chris Law07/06/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartyProposed
Stewart Hosie07/06/2016Dundee EastScottish National PartySeconded
Roger Mullin07/06/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySeconded
Drew Hendry07/06/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySeconded
Neil Gray07/06/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySeconded
Tasmina Sheikh07/06/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySeconded
Peter Grant07/06/2016GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock07/06/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond07/06/2016Signed
Phil Boswell07/06/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron07/06/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald07/06/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson07/06/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
John McNally07/06/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson07/06/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Richard Arkless07/06/2016Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman07/06/2016Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Calum Kerr07/06/2016Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale08/06/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Martyn Day08/06/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon08/06/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Chris Stephens08/06/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan08/06/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black13/06/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier13/06/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil13/06/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson14/06/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady14/06/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry14/06/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell15/06/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins15/06/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson20/06/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry20/06/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.