Parliament Website

National Union Of Students

EDM number 174 in 2016-17, proposed by Angela Crawley on 08/06/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Industrial relations and Students.

That this House condemns the offensive comments made by Conservative Party MSP Murdo Fraser labelling the National Union of Students (NUS) bigots; commends the long and proud history that the NUS has of campaigning and working for equality, including through its dedicated liberalisation and anti-racism campaigns; understands that when the NUS was campaigning against apartheid in South Africa, some Federation of Conservative Students were reportedly wearing Hang Nelson Mandela slogans; notes that when the NUS was campaigning for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender rights, many Conservative Party representatives at Holyrood and Westminster were voting against equality; and recognises that far from being bigots the NUS has and continues to be a champion for equality.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

Angela Crawley08/06/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartyProposed
Chris Law08/06/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Tommy Sheppard08/06/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySeconded
Hannah Bardell08/06/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySeconded
Kirsty Blackman08/06/2016Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Calum Kerr08/06/2016Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Stuart McDonald08/06/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day08/06/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin08/06/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald08/06/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson08/06/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson08/06/2016Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin08/06/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry08/06/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss08/06/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black08/06/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh08/06/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows08/06/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Eilidh Whiteford08/06/2016Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson08/06/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens08/06/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir08/06/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford08/06/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry08/06/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald09/06/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson09/06/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock09/06/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Callum McCaig09/06/2016Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
John McNally09/06/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan13/06/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson13/06/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil13/06/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier13/06/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale13/06/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner13/06/2016BolsoverLabourSigned
Patrick Grady14/06/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry14/06/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas15/06/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Carol Monaghan15/06/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan15/06/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray15/06/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell15/06/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Stephen Gethins15/06/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown27/06/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands06/07/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi19/07/2016Bolton South EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.