Parliament Website

Muirfield Golf Club Decision To Exclude Women Members

EDM number 36 in 2016-17, proposed by George Kerevan on 19/05/2016.
Categorised under the topic of Sports.

That this House condemns the decision by the all-male Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers, Muirfield Golf Club, to vote to continue to exclude women from full membership; notes that while a majority of members did support a change to the club’s rules, regrettably a small minority were able to block the two-thirds vote required to admit female members; further notes that as a result of this retrograde step, the sport’s governing body, the R&A at St Andrews, has said that Muirfield will no longer be eligible to host the Open Championship; further condemns this decision for sending entirely the wrong message to the rest of the world regarding Scottish society, as well as undermining years of collective effort and public support to attract visitors to Scotland’s historic golf coast in East Lothian; condemns the decision for signalling to women that their interest in golf is being discouraged, while it sends a very wrong message to young men about treating women as equals; calls on the club to continue internal discussions and hold a second ballot to allow full membership to everyone regardless of sex; and calls on the Sports Ministers of the UK and devolved administrations to boycott future events held at Muirfield until this happens.

This motion has been signed by a total of 52 MPs.

George Kerevan19/05/2016East LothianScottish National PartyProposed
Angela Crawley19/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySeconded
Alison Thewliss19/05/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
Phil Boswell19/05/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySeconded
Gavin Newlands19/05/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Neil Gray19/05/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySeconded
Ian Blackford19/05/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson19/05/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black19/05/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens19/05/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant19/05/2016GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown19/05/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard19/05/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir19/05/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty19/05/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara19/05/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman19/05/2016Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day23/05/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Geoffrey Robinson23/05/2016Coventry North WestLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts23/05/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Paul Monaghan23/05/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin23/05/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald23/05/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald23/05/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart23/05/2016Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry23/05/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
John McNally23/05/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson23/05/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady23/05/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale23/05/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Ronnie Cowan23/05/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson23/05/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry23/05/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald23/05/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Kevin Barron24/05/2016Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil24/05/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Chris Evans24/05/2016IslwynLabourSigned
John Mann24/05/2016BassetlawLabourSigned
Paul Flynn24/05/2016Newport WestLabourSigned
Michelle Thomson24/05/2016Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry25/05/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows25/05/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards25/05/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Richard Arkless26/05/2016Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law26/05/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Hywel Williams26/05/2016ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Steve Rotheram26/05/2016Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Deidre Brock26/05/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh06/06/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff08/06/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Steven Paterson20/06/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Valerie Vaz05/09/2016Walsall SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.