Parliament Website

The Introduction Of Free School Meals By North Lanarkshire Council

EDM number 1076 in 2017-19, proposed by Hugh Gaffney on 14/03/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Food, Incomes and poverty, Local government and Schools.

That this House pays tribute to North Lanarkshire Council and its Labour Party leadership for its decision to provide free school meals to children in need 365 days a year, recognises and welcomes that this decision will be the first of its kind across the four nations that make up our United Kingdom; gravely acknowledges the fact that almost three quarters of teachers note that malnourishment negatively affects a child's ability to learn; understands that the Government's welfare and social security policies have exacerbated the difficulties faced by low-income families on a daily basis; calls upon other local authorities across the UK to follow the example set by North Lanarkshire Council and ask the Government to consider the introduction of such a scheme across each local authority in all four of our country's nations; and rededicates itself to ensuring that no children in Scotland or across the UK are forced to attend school malnourished and miss out on the chance to achieve their full potential.

This motion has been signed by a total of 19 MPs.

Hugh Gaffney14/03/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourProposed
Martin Whitfield14/03/2018East LothianLabourSeconded
Catherine West14/03/2018Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSeconded
Faisal Rashid14/03/2018Warrington SouthLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris14/03/2018EasingtonLabourSeconded
Ian Mearns14/03/2018GatesheadLabourSeconded
Angela Eagle14/03/2018WallaseyLabourSigned
Harriet Harman14/03/2018Camberwell and PeckhamLabourSigned
Margaret Hodge14/03/2018BarkingLabourSigned
Tonia Antoniazzi14/03/2018GowerLabourSigned
Mike Hill14/03/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Mary Glindon15/03/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Stephen Twigg19/03/2018Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Matt Western20/03/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins21/03/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell21/03/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Sandy Martin22/03/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Ruth Smeeth26/03/2018Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff26/03/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.