Parliament Website

St Mungo's Academy Debate Team

EDM number 1083 in 2017-19, proposed by Alison Thewliss on 16/03/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Leisure and Schools.

That this House warmly congratulates the St Mungo's Academy debate team on winning the 2018 Parliamentary World Debate Competition (PWDC) held in Tokyo, Japan; understands that the team were the first Scottish team to compete, and also the youngest competitors; notes that the purpose of the PWDC is to empower young people to change their communities and world through international relationships and positive discourse; commends Maria Bisland, Michaela Roach and Ethan Walker on their prize-winning efforts; thanks their teacher Ms Long for her ongoing support and commitment to the debate team; wishes the other members of the detabe team, Lewis O'Neill, Thomas Higgins, Fabio de Pina, Milly Dearie and Liam Mossan, all the best for the future; and believes the St Mungo's Academy debate team are a credit to their school, their community, to Glasgow and to Scotland.

This motion has been signed by a total of 17 MPs.

Alison Thewliss16/03/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartyProposed
David Linden16/03/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Patrick Grady16/03/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens16/03/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Carol Monaghan16/03/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law16/03/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Patricia Gibson16/03/2018North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock16/03/2018Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald16/03/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford16/03/2018Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald16/03/2018Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon19/03/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Martyn Day20/03/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
John McNally20/03/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Julian Lewis21/03/2018New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Hannah Bardell16/04/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry23/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.