Parliament Website

Consequences Of Cancellation Of Cardiff To Swansea Rail Electrification

EDM number 1238 in 2017-19, proposed by Jo Stevens on 08/05/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Railways and Standards.

That this House notes with dismay and disapprobation the decision to scrap the rail electrification programme between Cardiff and Swansea; further notes that the National Audit Office consider the decision to have been financially driven; rejects claims that bi­modal trains could deliver similar benefits to electrification; believes that the decision will have an adverse impact on improving air quality, energy efficiency, reducing greenhouse gas emissions and enhancing services; is deeply concerned that the decision threatens economic growth and development in areas of England and Wales already suffering from poor connectivity and under­investment; is further concerned that the decision directly places 224 specialist skilled jobs at risk; further believes that the decision compounds existing problems with the feast or famine approach to work allocation which, along with short-term funding periods of five years and the increasing commercialisation of Network Rail, is contributing to casualisation of the workforce resulting in the loss of jobs, skills and standards; and calls on the Government to reinstate the electrification programme immediately and protect the affected skilled rail engineering jobs.

This motion has been signed by a total of 20 MPs.

Jo Stevens08/05/2018Cardiff CentralLabourProposed
Ian Mearns08/05/2018GatesheadLabourSeconded
Paul Flynn08/05/2018Newport WestLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris08/05/2018EasingtonLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins08/05/2018Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Lisa Nandy08/05/2018WiganLabourSeconded
Mary Glindon09/05/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Sandy Martin09/05/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Jim Shannon09/05/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell09/05/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards09/05/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Stephen Hepburn10/05/2018JarrowLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner10/05/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle10/05/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Hugh Gaffney14/05/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper15/05/2018West LancashireLabourSigned
Hywel Williams16/05/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Liz Saville Roberts21/05/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Albert Owen22/05/2018Ynys MLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer22/05/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.