Parliament Website

The Wales Report (No. 2)

EDM number 129 in 2017-19, proposed by Liz Saville Roberts on 04/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Energy and Renewable energy.

That this House notes the Government's previous commitment to the Swansea Bay Tidal Lagoon (SBTL); highlights the recommendation to launch the SBTL project in the Hendry Review commissioned by the Government; further notes the Hendry Review described it as a matter of urgency; acknowledges the Conservative Party's failure to include the project in its election manifesto and in its Queen's speech, despite having previously committed to it in the last Parliament; welcomes the companies and firms that are on standby to bid for the procurement; notes that this energy scheme will encourage students towards STEM subjects and will give them a credible prospect of working in Wales; notes the potential of private capital investment in Wales and the generation of power for 155,000 homes over 120 years; recognises the opportunities the scheme will bring into Wales such as leisure, tourism and maritime activities; and calls on the Government to renew its commitment to the SBTL project and invest in Wales as they have in Northern Ireland.

This motion has been signed by a total of 20 MPs.

Liz Saville Roberts04/07/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruProposed
Jonathan Edwards04/07/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Hywel Williams04/07/2017ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Ben Lake04/07/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSeconded
Martyn Day05/07/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens05/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon06/07/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Ronnie Cowan06/07/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins06/07/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Patrick Grady06/07/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Tonia Antoniazzi10/07/2017GowerLabourSigned
Drew Hendry11/07/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown11/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss11/07/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law11/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins11/07/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
John McNally11/07/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant20/07/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Kinnock05/09/2017AberavonLabourSigned
Anna McMorrin18/10/2017Cardiff NorthLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.