Parliament Website

Councillor Alistair Watson

EDM number 139 in 2017-19, proposed by Chris Stephens on 05/07/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Local government.

That this House recognises the life and work of Councillor Alistair Watson, trade unionist, railwayman, transport campaigner, tireless local champion for the community of Cardonald for 22 years and sends condolences to his family at this sad time; notes that Mr Watson was an exemplary councillor with a clear local focus but also a bold strategic vision, a local champion and city-wide advocate, with a vision of a city region with integrated transport at the heart of Glasgow's regeneration at the same time as working every day on the issues that mattered to his community neighbours; and further recognises that Mr Watson was well known for being a robust debater but with a smile and a handshake for his political opponents, was respected and valued by everyone who worked with him and who experienced the pride and passion he had for his work.

This motion has been signed by a total of 20 MPs.

Chris Stephens05/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartyProposed
Paul Sweeney05/07/2017Glasgow North EastLabourSeconded
Patrick Grady05/07/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Ian Murray05/07/2017Edinburgh SouthLabourSeconded
David Linden05/07/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Martin Whitfield05/07/2017East LothianLabourSeconded
Alison Thewliss05/07/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon06/07/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Martyn Day10/07/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald10/07/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Grahame Morris11/07/2017EasingtonLabourSigned
John McNally11/07/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins11/07/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law11/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Hugh Gaffney11/07/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Alan Brown11/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry11/07/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Paul Flynn12/07/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
Martin Docherty13/07/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant20/07/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.