Parliament Website

Ayrshire Samaritans Anniversary

EDM number 1417 in 2017-19, proposed by Alan Brown on 18/06/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Charities, Mental health and Voluntary organisations.

That this House congratulates Ayrshire Samaritans on its one year birthday at its new premises in The Forgate, Kilmarnock; notes that these premises are more accessible and welcoming than its previous premises; commends Worksmart, which undertook the original refurbishment, providing labour free of charge; commends all the volunteers who work for the Samaritans; further commends Ayrshire Samaritans on its one year birthday drop-in event; acknowledges the vital support work undertaken by the Samaritans; notes that it offers a safe place for people to talk any time they like, in their own way; acknowledges that while people contacting the Samaritans do not need to be feeling suicidal; recognises that much of its work relates to people concerned about suicidal thoughts; further acknowledges that suicide rates among young men in particular remain a concern and that efforts to encourage people to be more open about how they feel can help reduce the rates of suicide; and urges that Parliamentarians lead by example and do not use the term suicide as a joking term.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Alan Brown18/06/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartyProposed
Patricia Gibson18/06/2018North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald18/06/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Peter Grant18/06/2018GlenrothesScottish National PartySeconded
Stuart McDonald18/06/2018Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySeconded
Gavin Newlands18/06/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Kirsty Blackman18/06/2018Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley18/06/2018Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black18/06/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
John McNally18/06/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss18/06/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows18/06/2018Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day18/06/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins18/06/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman18/06/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan18/06/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson19/06/2018Upper BannDUPSigned
Jim Shannon19/06/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Martin Docherty20/06/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens20/06/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady21/06/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara21/06/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Hugh Gaffney02/07/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Drew Hendry16/07/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.