Parliament Website

Scottish Fire And Rescue Service VAT

EDM number 156 in 2017-19, proposed by Martin Whitfield on 11/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Fire services, Taxation and Scottish Parliament.

That this House notes the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service (SFRS) continues to be liable for VAT, which means that it has 20 per cent greater running costs than equivalent services in England and Wales; further notes that this anomaly was apparent when the SFRS was formed; recognises that the effect of the anomaly is to reduce the quality of service to the Scottish public; and calls on the Government to allow the SFRS to reclaim its VAT.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs.

Martin Whitfield11/07/2017East LothianLabourProposed
Ian Murray11/07/2017Edinburgh SouthLabourSeconded
Alex Sobel13/07/2017Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Jim Shannon13/07/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Ged Killen13/07/2017Rutherglen and Hamilton WestLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Hugh Gaffney13/07/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSeconded
Alan Brown19/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law20/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant20/07/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard20/07/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Paul Sweeney05/09/2017Glasgow North EastLabourSigned
Ronnie Cowan19/10/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
John McNally23/10/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald23/10/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman23/10/2017Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron23/10/2017East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows23/10/2017Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty23/10/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day23/10/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black23/10/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray23/10/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson23/10/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart23/10/2017Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford23/10/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins23/10/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Stewart Hosie23/10/2017Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry23/10/2017Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford23/10/2017Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell23/10/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands23/10/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman23/10/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock23/10/2017Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
David Linden23/10/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens23/10/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara23/10/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil23/10/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley23/10/2017Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss23/10/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady23/10/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald23/10/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.