Parliament Website

Geraint Thomas And The Tour De France 2018

EDM number 1570 in 2017-19, proposed by Jonathan Edwards on 04/09/2018.
Categorised under the topic of Sports.

This House congratulate Geraint Thomas from Wales on his victory in the 2018 Tour de France; acknowledges the support of his fellow Team Sky cyclists Chris Froome, Egan Arley Bernal Gomez, Jonathan Castroviejo, Michal Kwiatkowski, Gianni Moscon, Wout Poels and Luke Rowe; notes that Geraint wore the famous Maillot Jaune for 11 consecutive days after winning Stage 11 between Albertville and La Rosiere; also won the iconic Alpe D’Huez stage becoming the first cyclist in the of the Tour de France history to win it whilst wearing the yellow jersey; further notes the euphoric response in Wales to his victory; congratulates Carmarthenshire County Council for renaming Carmarthen velodrome after Geraint; notes that the Wales National Velodrome in Newport has also been renamed in his honour; and calls on the Government to play its part by renaming the Severn Bridges in recognition of the remarkable achievement by Geraint Thomas in winning the 2018 Tour de France.

This motion has been signed by a total of 18 MPs.

Jonathan Edwards04/09/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruProposed
Liz Saville Roberts05/09/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Paul Girvan05/09/2018South AntrimDUPSeconded
Jim Shannon05/09/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Chris Stephens05/09/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
David Linden06/09/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Hugh Gaffney10/09/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Albert Owen11/09/2018Ynys MLabourSigned
Tonia Antoniazzi11/09/2018GowerLabourSigned
Martyn Day11/09/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law12/09/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Mike Gapes12/09/2018Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Liz Twist13/09/2018BlaydonLabourSigned
Hywel Williams09/10/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Drew Hendry09/10/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown09/10/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins23/10/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart06/11/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.