Parliament Website

BBC Alba - 10th Year Anniversary

EDM number 1644 in 2017-19, proposed by Ian Blackford on 09/10/2018.

That this House celebrates the 10th year anniversary of Gaelic programme BBC Alba; thanks the work of Gaelic media services, rebranded as MG Alba, and BBC Scotland who jointly operate the channel through partial funding from the Scottish and UK Governments; acknowledges that over £160 million worth of funding has made the service possible and has widened the reach of the Gaelic language; further acknowledges that this reach will increase further through the recent partnership agreement with TG 4 ROI, S4C Wales and the Northern Ireland Screen Irish Language Broadcast Fund; welcomes news that a new, ambitious package of programming will see the Gaelic station produce a seven-day news service for the first time with current affairs programme An Lá now being broadcast at weekends; further welcomes that this package of programming will also see BBC Alba screen all of Scotland's 2019 Women's World Cup matches live after Shelley Kerr's side reached its first-ever finals; and recognises the vast contribution that BBC Alba makes to promoting the Gaelic language through quality programming.

This motion has been signed by a total of 21 MPs.

Ian Blackford09/10/2018Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartyProposed
Carol Monaghan09/10/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySeconded
Angus MacNeil09/10/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySeconded
Brendan O'Hara09/10/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySeconded
Hannah Bardell09/10/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySeconded
Jonathan Edwards10/10/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts10/10/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Shannon10/10/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Martyn Day10/10/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law10/10/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins10/10/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Lisa Cameron11/10/2018East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady11/10/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens11/10/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss15/10/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty16/10/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown22/10/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins23/10/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman26/10/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry06/11/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart21/11/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.