Parliament Website

Fracking Protests

EDM number 1696 in 2017-19, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 15/10/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Energy, Environmental protection and Oil, petrol and natural gas.

That this House notes the conviction and imprisonment of three anti-fracking protesters for causing a public nuisance whilst taking non-violent direct action to try to prevent the extraction of shale gas by Cuadrilla at Preston New Road, Lancashire; further notes that shale gas is a fossil fuel and that the Government's decision to launch a new fossil fuel industry by granting planning permission to Cuadrilla and others is undermining both local democracy and safe climate targets, which require at least 80 per cent of known fossil fuel reserves to be kept in the ground; applauds the principled peaceful actions of Simon Roscoe Blevins, Richard Roberts and Richard Loizou, the latest in a long proud history of individuals sent to prison for bravely defending our environment; considers the sentences received to be disproportionately harsh and the ruling part of a worrying trend of criminalising legitimate protest; welcomes academies from across the UK in calling for a judicial review of the three men's sentences; and urges the the Government to ban fracking.

This motion has been signed by a total of 11 MPs.

Caroline Lucas15/10/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Alex Sobel15/10/2018Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Rachael Maskell15/10/2018York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Roger Godsiff15/10/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSeconded
Dennis Skinner16/10/2018BolsoverLabourSeconded
Daniel Zeichner17/10/2018CambridgeLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins17/10/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Chris Stephens17/10/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle18/10/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Ruth George25/10/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Thelma Walker06/11/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.