Parliament Website

Roadchef Employees Benefit Trust

EDM number 200 in 2017-19, proposed by Paul Farrelly on 17/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Companies, Employment and Financial services.

That this House supports the development of employee share ownership, as such schemes reward loyalty and hard work and give employees a stake in their company; commends the Roadchef Employees Benefit Trust, established by Chief Executive Mr Patrick Gee in 1986, to give employees at Roadchef Motorway Services a John Lewis type scheme in such locations as Watford Gap, Strensham, Clacket Lane, Stafford, Killington Lake, Taunton Deane, Magor and Hamilton; notes with concern, however, that his successor Timothy Ingram Hill paid £10 million to HM Revenue and Customs (HMRC) as tax on Roadchef share sale proceeds of over £26 million, which he obtained in breach of trust; believes that these funds, and its interest belonged to the Trust, as the High Court ruled in 2014; agrees that this is a serious issue for the beneficiaries, many of whom were low-paid catering and cleaning staff, some of whom have sadly since passed away; and calls on the Government to review HMRC's position on this issue to ensure that, to the extent HMRC has the discretion to do so, that the Trust's money is repaid, so that 4,000 Roadchef beneficiaries can receive their just entitlements, of which the High Court has already found they were wrongly deprived.

This motion has been signed by a total of 13 MPs.

Paul Farrelly17/07/2017Newcastle-under-LymeLabourProposed
Martyn Day18/07/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens18/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon18/07/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Jonathan Edwards19/07/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Alan Brown19/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law20/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald05/09/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Kinnock05/09/2017AberavonLabourSigned
David Linden05/09/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray12/12/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Doughty13/12/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Frank Field27/03/2018BirkenheadLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.