Parliament Website

Living Wage Status For West College Scotland

EDM number 377 in 2017-19, proposed by Martin Docherty on 11/10/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Further education and Pay.

That this House recognises that West College Scotland has officially been accredited as a Living Wage employer; notes that the living wage is independently calculated each year based on what employees and their families need to live and is currently calculated at £8.45 per hour; further notes that West College Scotland employs 1,300 people across its Clydebank, Greenock and Paisley campuses, the equivalent of one per cent of total regional employment; acknowledges that all current College staff already enjoy rates of pay above the living wage; congratulates West College Scotland on its accreditation and its commitment to fair pay and employee well-being; and calls on employers in the West of Scotland region, across Scotland and throughout the UK to become Living Wage employers.

This motion has been signed by a total of 19 MPs.

Martin Docherty11/10/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartyProposed
Douglas Chapman11/10/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySeconded
Marion Fellows11/10/2017Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySeconded
Carol Monaghan11/10/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySeconded
Peter Grant11/10/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySeconded
Hannah Bardell11/10/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySeconded
Stuart McDonald11/10/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock11/10/2017Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins11/10/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady11/10/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss12/10/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan12/10/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens12/10/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Hugh Gaffney16/10/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
David Linden16/10/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law16/10/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown25/10/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.