Parliament Website

Scotland's National Plan For British Sign Language

EDM number 464 in 2017-19, proposed by Douglas Chapman on 30/10/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Disability discrimination, Equality and Special educational needs.

That this House welcomes the Scottish Government's national plan for British Sign Language (BSL), the first of its kind anywhere in the UK; recognises the plan's ambition to make Scotland the best place in the world for deaf and deafblind BSL users to live, work and visit; notes that among its actions to be implemented by 2020 are measures such as enabling more children to learn BSL at school, researching innovative ways to provide in formation in BSL in transport hubs such as train stations and airports, and removing the barriers that prevent BSL users from becoming registered teachers; acknowledges the importance of BSL as a language, officially recognised in Scotland since 2011; congratulates the Scottish Government on presenting such an ambitious and progressive plan, setting an example for the rest of the UK to follow; and looks forward to a bright future for BSL users in Scotland.

This motion has been signed by a total of 20 MPs.

Douglas Chapman30/10/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartyProposed
Patricia Gibson30/10/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySeconded
Deidre Brock30/10/2017Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald30/10/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon31/10/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
David Linden31/10/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
John McNally31/10/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens01/11/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan01/11/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law01/11/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss01/11/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady02/11/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Hugh Gaffney02/11/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/11/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/11/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins21/11/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard27/11/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry04/12/2017Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.