Parliament Website

Chris Bartter - Trade Unionist And Foi Campaigner

EDM number 500 in 2017-19, proposed by Chris Stephens on 02/11/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Death, Industrial relations and Libraries.

That this House recognises the life and work of Chris Bartter, trade unionist, librarian and freedom of information campaigner; further recognises his many achievements as a steward in Glasgow Libraries, as a Service and Conditions Officer, Chair of NALGO's Publicity Committee, lay Scottish District Secretary, and then full-time Communications officer in UNISON Scotland; notes his role in creating a communications culture in the Trade Union, engaging, enthusing, and training lay activists; that he was instrumental in the first Trade Union street theatre campaign for the National Health Service, and as the driving force behind the publication of the first Trade Union public services manifesto for the first Scottish Parliament elections; chaired the 7:84 Theatre company; his huge part in re-instating Glasgow's May Day as a festival; and latterly assisted in establishing the campaign for a Nelson Mandela Scottish Memorial Foundation and the Havana Glasgow Film Festival and continued campaigning for Freedom of Information; celebrates his love of people, his great humour and kindness; and sends its condolences to his family and friends at this time.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Chris Stephens02/11/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartyProposed
Hugh Gaffney02/11/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSeconded
Carol Monaghan02/11/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySeconded
Catherine West02/11/2017Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSeconded
Stewart McDonald02/11/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Grahame Morris02/11/2017EasingtonLabourSeconded
Liz Twist03/11/2017BlaydonLabourSigned
Dan Carden03/11/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Brendan O'Hara06/11/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard06/11/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day06/11/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Daniel Zeichner06/11/2017CambridgeLabourSigned
John McNally07/11/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Mike Hill13/11/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
David Linden13/11/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Marie Rimmer13/11/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Ian Mearns16/11/2017GatesheadLabourSigned
Eleanor Smith20/11/2017Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/11/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/11/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins21/11/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law21/11/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.