Parliament Website

Twenty-Five Years Of Celtic Connections

EDM number 851 in 2017-19, proposed by Alison Thewliss on 23/01/2018.
Categorised under the topic of Performing arts.

That this House congratulates Glasgow's annual Celtic Connections festival as it celebrates its 25th anniversary in 2018; notes that the festival, which began in 1994 based in Glasgow's Royal Concert Hall attracting around 32,000 visitors, now extends to over 300 events in 28 venues, including the SSE Hydro, and has regularly sold well over 100,000 tickets in recent years, attracting over 2,000 musicians and artists to its stages and making a significant contribution to Glasgow's economy in the winter months; further notes the role of the festival in providing an important platform for promoting young and emerging talent in Scottish traditional music, and collaborations between traditional Scottish and world music artists from across the globe; understands that the festival can now apply for funding of up to £100,000 from the Scottish Government's Festivals Expo fund, to support the development of traditional music and encourage new talent in traditional music, and effectively gives the festival a national status in Scotland; believes that Celtic Connections has made an important contribution to Scotland's cultural life, cementing its reputation as one of the world's leading traditional music festivals; and further congratulates Artistic Director Donald Shaw and all at Celtic Connections on reaching this important milestone and hopes that the festival will continue to go from strength to strength in the coming years.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Alison Thewliss23/01/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartyProposed
Patrick Grady23/01/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Deidre Brock23/01/2018Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySeconded
Joanna Cherry23/01/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Patricia Gibson23/01/2018North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart Hosie23/01/2018Dundee EastScottish National PartySeconded
Martyn Day23/01/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald23/01/2018Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan23/01/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant23/01/2018GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley23/01/2018Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards23/01/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Drew Hendry23/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford23/01/2018Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
David Linden23/01/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands23/01/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens23/01/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray23/01/2018Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford23/01/2018Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara23/01/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins23/01/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil23/01/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald24/01/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon24/01/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
John McNally24/01/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman24/01/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Grahame Morris24/01/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
Alan Brown20/02/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.