Parliament Website

"the Independent", David Mckittrick And Colin Wallace

EDM number 475 in 1989-90, proposed by George Galloway on 07/02/1990.

That this House notes The Independent newspaper's claim to be a serious quality newspaper, purporting to demonstrate high standards of objectivity, eschewing such potential sources of misinformation as the Parliamentary lobby system, seeking joint commitments with other newspapers to amongst other things the prompt correction of factual errors; further notes the September 1987 article in The Independent by David McKittrick, said by him at the time to have been the result of an investigation into Colin Wallace and which blackguarded his claims as being those of a liar and fantasist, the basis of which article was in fact being offered to and had been rejected by other British newspapers as being from dubious sources; notes that not one word of the McKittrick smear has been withdrawn and that indeed it was compounded by him in The Independent (3.2.90); notes that despite Press Council requests, Andreas Whittam Smith has repeatedly avoided meeting Wallace to discuss his complaints; and demands that such a meeting takes place and that due apology and recompense be made to Colin Wallace for the deeply damaging misinformation The Independent has published, which misinformation may have been used by the authorities to continue the cover-up of malpractice and treason in Northern Ireland.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

George Galloway07/02/1990Glasgow HillheadProposed
Chris Mullin07/02/1990Sunderland SouthSigned
Ernie Ross08/02/1990Dundee WestSigned
John McAllion08/02/1990Dundee EastSigned
William McKelvey08/02/1990Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
Alan Meale08/02/1990MansfieldSigned
Keith Bradley08/02/1990Manchester, WithingtonSigned
John Cummings08/02/1990EasingtonSigned
Harry Barnes08/02/1990North East DerbyshireSigned
John Battle08/02/1990Leeds WestSigned
Alice Mahon12/02/1990HalifaxSigned
Doug Hoyle13/02/1990Warrington NorthSigned
Tony Banks13/02/1990Newham North WestSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie13/02/1990Glasgow, PollokSigned
Bob Cryer13/02/1990Bradford SouthSigned
Eric Illsley14/02/1990Barnsley CentralSigned
Jeremy Corbyn14/02/1990Islington NorthSigned
Mildred Gordon14/02/1990Bow and PoplarSigned
Dawn Primarolo15/02/1990Bristol SouthSigned
Max Madden19/02/1990Bradford WestSigned
Audrey Wise19/02/1990PrestonSigned
Tommy Graham20/02/1990Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.