Parliament Website

Future Of Export Credits Guarantee Department (N0.2)

EDM number 480 in 1989-90, proposed by Rhodri Morgan on 07/02/1990.

That this House notes the statement by Malcolm Stephens, Chief Executive of the Export Credits Guarantee Department on Tuesday 6th February, that the privatisation of the Insurance Services Group Division of the Export Credits Guarantee Department could lead the way to foreign takeover; calls on the Secretary of State for Trade and Industry to recognise that this would be the unavoidable outcome of Government policy; asks him to recognise that a foreign financial services corporation cannot be relied upon to provide support services for Britain's exporters; and therefore calls on him to withdraw the proposal to privatise the Insurance Services Group of the Export Credits Guarantee Department, thereby ensuring continuity of work for its 770 employees in Cardiff.

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs.

Rhodri Morgan07/02/1990Cardiff WestProposed
Alun Michael07/02/1990Cardiff South & PenarthSigned
Paul Flynn07/02/1990Newport WestSigned
Keith Vaz08/02/1990Leicester EastSigned
Win Griffiths08/02/1990BridgendSigned
Ron Davies08/02/1990CaerphillySigned
Lawrence Cunliffe08/02/1990LeighSigned
John Cummings08/02/1990EasingtonSigned
Harry Cohen08/02/1990LeytonSigned
Bill Michie08/02/1990Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Alan Meale08/02/1990MansfieldSigned
William McKelvey08/02/1990Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
John McAllion08/02/1990Dundee EastSigned
Tony Lloyd08/02/1990StretfordSigned
Ernie Ross08/02/1990Dundee WestSigned
Keith Bradley08/02/1990Manchester, WithingtonSigned
Norman Godman12/02/1990Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
James Wray12/02/1990Glasgow ProvanSigned
George Galloway13/02/1990Glasgow HillheadSigned
Michael Welsh13/02/1990Doncaster NorthSigned
Dennis Turner13/02/1990Wolverhampton South EastSigned
Bob Cryer13/02/1990Bradford SouthSigned
Eddie Loyden13/02/1990Liverpool, GarstonSigned
Eric Illsley14/02/1990Barnsley CentralSigned
Roland Boyes14/02/1990Houghton and WashingtonSigned
Jeremy Corbyn14/02/1990Islington NorthSigned
Donald Anderson15/02/1990Swansea EastSigned
Max Madden19/02/1990Bradford WestSigned
Audrey Wise19/02/1990PrestonSigned
Tommy Graham20/02/1990Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Gwyneth Dunwoody01/03/1990Crewe & NantwichSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.