Parliament Website


EDM number 51 in 1990-91, proposed by Harry Barnes on 12/11/1990.

That this House welcomes the election of Mary Robinson as President of Ireland; and sees her commitment to women's rights within the Republic and her post-election statement extending a warm hand of friendship on behalf of the people of the Republic to the two communities of Northern Ireland as matters of great hope and significance; and agrees with her comments at her inaugural address that she 'was elected by men and women of all parties and none, by many with great moral courage who stepped beyond the faded flags of the civil war and voted for a new Ireland'.

This motion has been signed by a total of 57 MPs.

Harry Barnes12/11/1990North East DerbyshireProposed
Nigel Griffiths12/11/1990Edinburgh SouthSigned
Alice Mahon12/11/1990HalifaxSigned
John Evans12/11/1990St Helens NorthSigned
Audrey Wise12/11/1990PrestonSigned
Keith Bradley13/11/1990Manchester, WithingtonSigned
David Winnick13/11/1990Walsall NorthSigned
Tony Banks13/11/1990Newham North WestSigned
Terry Davis13/11/1990Birmingham, Hodge HillSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe13/11/1990LeighSigned
John Cummings13/11/1990EasingtonSigned
Gordon Oakes13/11/1990HaltonSigned
Alan Meale13/11/1990MansfieldSigned
Eric Illsley13/11/1990Barnsley CentralSigned
David Hinchliffe13/11/1990WakefieldSigned
Peter Hardy13/11/1990WentworthSigned
Dennis Skinner13/11/1990BolsoverSigned
Robert Parry13/11/1990Liverpool, RiversideSigned
Win Griffiths14/11/1990BridgendSigned
James Wray14/11/1990Glasgow ProvanSigned
Dennis Turner14/11/1990Wolverhampton South EastSigned
Jack Thompson14/11/1990WansbeckSigned
Kevin Barron14/11/1990Rother ValleySigned
Tommy Graham14/11/1990Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Andrew Faulds14/11/1990Warley EastSigned
Kenneth Eastham14/11/1990Manchester, BlackleySigned
Harry Ewing14/11/1990Falkirk EastSigned
Terry Patchett14/11/1990Barnsley EastSigned
Dawn Primarolo14/11/1990Bristol SouthSigned
Roy Hughes14/11/1990Newport EastSigned
Eddie Loyden14/11/1990Liverpool, GarstonSigned
Alun Michael14/11/1990Cardiff South & PenarthSigned
Tom Cox14/11/1990TootingSigned
Joyce Quin15/11/1990Gateshead EastSigned
John Smith15/11/1990Vale of GlamorganSigned
Tony Lloyd15/11/1990StretfordSigned
Austin Mitchell15/11/1990Great GrimsbySigned
Paul Murphy15/11/1990TorfaenSigned
Ron Davies15/11/1990CaerphillySigned
Mildred Gordon15/11/1990Bow and PoplarSigned
Brian Wilson15/11/1990Cunninghame NorthSigned
Dafydd Wigley19/11/1990CaernarfonSigned
Joan Ruddock20/11/1990Lewisham, DeptfordSigned
Andrew Smith20/11/1990Oxford EastSigned
Robert Hughes20/11/1990Aberdeen NorthSigned
Elliot Morley21/11/1990Glanford and ScunthorpeSigned
Mike Watson21/11/1990Glasgow CentralSigned
Jim Cousins26/11/1990Newcastle upon Tyne CentralSigned
Ieuan Wyn Jones28/11/1990Ynys MSigned
Geraint Howells29/11/1990Ceredigion and Pembroke NorthSigned
Robert Wareing03/12/1990Liverpool, West DerbySigned
Paul Flynn06/12/1990Newport WestSigned
Doug Hoyle13/12/1990Warrington NorthSigned
Dafydd Elis Thomas17/12/1990Meirionnydd Nant ConwySigned
Kate Hoey27/03/1991VauxhallSigned
Diane Abbott28/03/1991Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonSigned
Jeff Rooker15/04/1991Birmingham, Perry BarrSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.