Parliament Website


EDM number 695 in 1991-92, proposed by Bruce Grocott on 18/02/1992.

That this House notes that the exclusive rights to the televising of World Cup cricket have been bought by B Sky B, thus ensuring that the vast majority of cricket-lovers will be unable to view the series; acknowledges that this is further clear evidence of the way in which so-called market forces restrict freedom of choice for the viewer; rejects the Conservative philosophy that offers choice only to a minority; and deeply regrets this further illustration of the profound damage being done to British television, once so admired throughout the world, by a Government which puts the interests of advertisers and company profits ahead of viewers and programme-makers.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Bruce Grocott18/02/1992Wrekin, TheProposed
Kate Hoey18/02/1992VauxhallSigned
Frank Cook18/02/1992Stockton NorthSigned
Robin Corbett18/02/1992Birmingham, ErdingtonSigned
John Evans18/02/1992St Helens NorthSigned
John Garrett18/02/1992Norwich SouthSigned
Harry Barnes19/02/1992North East DerbyshireSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie19/02/1992Glasgow, PollokSigned
Keith Bradley19/02/1992Manchester, WithingtonSigned
Edward O'Hara19/02/1992Knowsley SouthSigned
Alan Meale19/02/1992MansfieldSigned
William McKelvey19/02/1992Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
Robert Litherland19/02/1992Manchester CentralSigned
Eric Illsley19/02/1992Barnsley CentralSigned
Peter Hardy19/02/1992WentworthSigned
Ernie Ross19/02/1992Dundee WestSigned
Terry Patchett19/02/1992Barnsley EastSigned
Robert Parry19/02/1992Liverpool, RiversideSigned
John McAllion19/02/1992Dundee EastSigned
Bill Michie20/02/1992Sheffield, HeeleySigned
David Clelland20/02/1992Tyne BridgeSigned
Derek Enright20/02/1992HemsworthSigned
Gerry Steinberg20/02/1992Durham, City ofSigned
Jack Thompson25/02/1992WansbeckSigned
Andrew Faulds26/02/1992Warley EastSigned
Dennis Turner26/02/1992Wolverhampton South EastSigned
Terry Lewis27/02/1992WorsleySigned
Tommy Graham27/02/1992Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
David Winnick27/02/1992Walsall NorthSigned
Audrey Wise03/03/1992PrestonSigned
John Cummings05/03/1992EasingtonSigned
Barry Sheerman09/03/1992HuddersfieldSigned
Peter Pike11/03/1992BurnleySigned
Tony Lloyd11/03/1992StretfordSigned
Dale Campbell-Savours12/03/1992WorkingtonSigned
Harry Cohen12/03/1992LeytonSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.