Parliament Website

Local Radio

EDM number 667 in 1994-95, proposed by Alan Howarth on 23/02/1995.

That this House reminds the BBC that it is a publicly funded agency with civic responsibilities; notes the cost effectiveness of local radio and its low cost of operation compared to television; welcomes the part that local radio can play in sustaining genuinely local communities and in promoting democratic participation and debate; considers that regional broadcasting services, valuable though they are, are no substitute for local broadcasting; therefore deplores the decision of the BBC to merge BBC CWR with Radio WM; and urges the BBC to reconsider this decision and to maintain a full commitment to local radio.

This motion has been signed by a total of 48 MPs.

Alan Howarth23/02/1995Stratford-on-AvonProposed
Bill Olner23/02/1995NuneatonSigned
Norman Godman24/02/1995Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Tony Banks24/02/1995Newham North WestSigned
Harry Barnes24/02/1995North East DerbyshireSigned
David Winnick24/02/1995Walsall NorthSigned
Andrew MacKinlay27/02/1995ThurrockSigned
Eric Clarke27/02/1995MidlothianSigned
Alan Meale27/02/1995MansfieldSigned
William McKelvey27/02/1995Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
John McAllion27/02/1995Dundee EastSigned
Barry Jones27/02/1995Alyn & DeesideSigned
Peter Hardy27/02/1995WentworthSigned
Ernie Ross27/02/1995Dundee WestSigned
Mike O'Brien27/02/1995North WarwickshireSigned
Paddy Tipping28/02/1995SherwoodSigned
Jack Thompson28/02/1995WansbeckSigned
Jim Dowd28/02/1995Lewisham WestSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe28/02/1995LeighSigned
Tom Cox28/02/1995TootingSigned
Keith Bradley28/02/1995Manchester, WithingtonSigned
Gordon Oakes28/02/1995HaltonSigned
Bill Michie28/02/1995Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Ken Livingstone28/02/1995Brent EastSigned
Michael Clapham28/02/1995Barnsley West & PenistoneSigned
Terry Patchett01/03/1995Barnsley EastSigned
Dudley Smith01/03/1995Warwick & LeamingtonSigned
Michael Connarty01/03/1995Falkirk EastSigned
Jean Corston01/03/1995Bristol EastSigned
Jim Cunningham01/03/1995Coventry South EastSigned
Mike Hall01/03/1995Warrington SouthSigned
Hugh Bayley01/03/1995York, City ofSigned
Dennis Turner01/03/1995Wolverhampton South EastSigned
Bill Etherington02/03/1995Sunderland NorthSigned
Eddie Loyden02/03/1995Liverpool, GarstonSigned
John Hutton03/03/1995Barrow & FurnessSigned
Kevin Hughes06/03/1995Doncaster NorthSigned
Janet Anderson06/03/1995Rossendale & DarwenSigned
Martyn Jones07/03/1995Clwyd South WestSigned
Alan Simpson09/03/1995Nottingham SouthSigned
Toby Jessel09/03/1995TwickenhamSigned
Lynne Jones09/03/1995Birmingham, Selly OakSigned
Nicholas Winterton09/03/1995MacclesfieldSigned
Audrey Wise13/03/1995PrestonSigned
Frank Cook15/03/1995Stockton NorthSigned
Tommy Graham20/03/1995Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Barry Sheerman30/03/1995HuddersfieldSigned
Nigel Jones16/05/1995CheltenhamSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.