Parliament Website


EDM number 1695 in 1997-98, proposed by Andrew Miller on 26/10/1998.

That this House recognises that climate change is a crucial environmental concern; notes that the United Kingdom is committed to a 20 per cent. reduction in carbon dioxide emissions by 2010; believes that this reduction can substantially be achieved through a greater concentration on energy efficiency; supports the Home Energy Conservation Act 1995 which mandates local authorities to take measures to improve the energy efficiency levels of their housing stock; congratulates the 96 local authorities that have won grants totalling ú2.86 million through the Energy Saving Trust's Energy Efficiency HECA awards; welcomes the fact that this investment will attract another ú37 million from consumers and the private sector and will achieve lifetime carbon dioxide savings of over 0.9 million tonnes; and congratulates the Energy Saving Trust on this initiative and others it runs to encourage energy efficiency and reduce carbon dioxide emission levels in the United Kingdom.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs.

Andrew Miller26/10/1998Ellesmere Port & NestonLabourProposed
Phil Sawford26/10/1998KetteringLabourSigned
David Drew26/10/1998StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Jane Griffiths26/10/1998Reading EastLabourSigned
Roger Berry26/10/1998KingswoodLabourSigned
Brian White26/10/1998North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore27/10/1998HendonLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt27/10/1998Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
John Austin27/10/1998Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Donald Gorrie27/10/1998Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Alice Mahon27/10/1998HalifaxLabourSigned
Ashok Kumar27/10/1998Middlesbrough South & East ClevelandLabourSigned
Brian Iddon27/10/1998Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Harry Barnes28/10/1998North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Ian Stewart28/10/1998EcclesLabourSigned
Norman Godman28/10/1998Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Ian Gibson28/10/1998Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Lorna Fitzsimons28/10/1998RochdaleLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden28/10/1998Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Jackie Lawrence28/10/1998Preseli PembrokeshireLabourSigned
Lynne Jones28/10/1998Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Alan Simpson28/10/1998Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Christine Butler28/10/1998Castle PointLabourSigned
Ken Livingstone29/10/1998Brent EastLabourSigned
Valerie Davey29/10/1998Bristol WestLabourSigned
Hilton Dawson29/10/1998Lancaster & WyreLabourSigned
Gareth Thomas29/10/1998Harrow WestLabourSigned
Evan Harris02/11/1998Oxford West & AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake02/11/1998Carshalton & WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer02/11/1998KeighleyLabourSigned
Nigel Jones03/11/1998CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Julia Drown03/11/1998South SwindonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin03/11/1998Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Michael Connarty03/11/1998Falkirk EastLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd04/11/1998Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
John McDonnell04/11/1998Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Bill Michie04/11/1998Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton04/11/1998GowerLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell04/11/1998Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing04/11/1998Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Rudi Vis10/11/1998Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Clive Efford12/11/1998ElthamLabourSigned
Paul Truswell12/11/1998PudseyLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.