Parliament Website

Live Coverage Of Scottish Questions

EDM number 400 in 1997-98, proposed by Rosemary McKenna on 05/11/1997.

That this House regrets the decision of Scottish Television to withdraw live coverage of Scottish Questions, denying the electorate access to the process by which Scottish Office Ministers are brought to account by honourable Members until such time as the Scottish Parliament is elected and carrying out that function; and believes that it is important that the public are able to see this process of accountability in the period up to the elections for that Parliament.

This motion has been signed by a total of 21 MPs.

Rosemary McKenna05/11/1997Cumbernauld & KilsythLabourProposed
Robert Smith05/11/1997West Aberdeenshire & KincardineLiberal DemocratSigned
Russell Brown05/11/1997DumfriesLabourSigned
Lynda Clark05/11/1997Edinburgh, PentlandsLabourSigned
Eric Clarke05/11/1997MidlothianLabourSigned
Maria Fyfe05/11/1997Glasgow, MaryhillLabourSigned
Paul Flynn06/11/1997Newport WestLabourSigned
Alasdair Morgan06/11/1997Galloway & Upper NithsdaleScottish National PartySigned
Michael Moore06/11/1997Tweeddale, Ettrick & LauderdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Jones06/11/1997CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Ernie Ross06/11/1997Dundee WestLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner10/11/1997BolsoverLabourSigned
Jim Wallace11/11/1997Orkney & ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Ken Livingstone12/11/1997Brent EastLabourSigned
John Swinney12/11/1997North TaysideScottish National PartySigned
John D Taylor12/11/1997StrangfordUUPSigned
Roy Beggs13/11/1997East AntrimUUPSigned
Tony Benn13/11/1997ChesterfieldLabourSigned
John McDonnell14/11/1997Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
George Galloway17/11/1997Glasgow, KelvinLabourSigned
Norman Godman17/11/1997Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.