Parliament Website

United Nations Declaration Of Human Rights

EDM number 781 in 1997-98, proposed by Christopher Leslie on 12/02/1998.

That this House welcomes the 50th anniversary of the proclamation of the United Nations Declaration of Human Rights by the General Assembly of the United Nations on 10 December 1948 and acknowledges the importance of the Declaration which was written in response to the atrocities committed in the Second World War and covers economic, social and cultural rights as well as political and civil rights; recognises that the Declaration is accepted by all member states when they join the United Nations and supersedes the policies of individual governments, with all world leaders being accountable to it; regrets, however, that in each of the past 50 years there have continued to be countless examples where people have been deprived of their most basic human rights; and calls upon the Government to reaffirm its commitment to the Declaration and to work with fellow members of the United Nations to ensure that the principles contained within the declaration are universally upheld.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

Christopher Leslie12/02/1998ShipleyLabourProposed
Gillian Merron12/02/1998LincolnLabourSigned
Andrew Miller12/02/1998Ellesmere Port & NestonLabourSigned
Russell Brown12/02/1998DumfriesLabourSigned
Eric Clarke12/02/1998MidlothianLabourSigned
Vernon Coaker12/02/1998GedlingLabourSigned
Audrey Wise13/02/1998PrestonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins16/02/1998Luton NorthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones16/02/1998Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Ken Livingstone16/02/1998Brent EastLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard16/02/1998WalthamstowLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice17/02/1998PendleLabourSigned
Maria Fyfe17/02/1998Glasgow, MaryhillLabourSigned
Valerie Davey17/02/1998Bristol WestLabourSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe17/02/1998LeighLabourSigned
Bill Michie17/02/1998Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell17/02/1998Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd17/02/1998Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Ashok Kumar17/02/1998Middlesbrough South & East ClevelandLabourSigned
Eric Illsley17/02/1998Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Norman Godman18/02/1998Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Paul Flynn18/02/1998Newport WestLabourSigned
Vincent Cable18/02/1998TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Clapham18/02/1998Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
David Lepper19/02/1998Brighton, PavilionLabour Co-operativeSigned
Terry Lewis19/02/1998WorsleyLabourSigned
Alice Mahon19/02/1998HalifaxLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore19/02/1998HendonLabourSigned
John Austin19/02/1998Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
David Taylor19/02/1998North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Andrew Love23/02/1998EdmontonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Ann Cryer23/02/1998KeighleyLabourSigned
Robert Wareing24/02/1998Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell25/02/1998Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Jones26/02/1998CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington26/02/1998Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Martyn Jones27/02/1998Clwyd SouthLabourSigned
Martin Caton27/02/1998GowerLabourSigned
Terry Davis11/03/1998Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Malcolm Savidge12/03/1998Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Andrew George12/03/1998St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Ivan Lewis18/03/1998Bury SouthLabourSigned
Dale Campbell-Savours18/03/1998WorkingtonLabourSigned
Paul Burstow19/03/1998Sutton & CheamLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis23/03/1998Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Marsha Singh07/04/1998Bradford WestLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.