Parliament Website

Devolution For North East England

EDM number 847 in 1998-99, proposed by Fraser Kemp on 20/07/1999.

That this House welcomes the devolution of powers to Scotland and Wales, and the official openings of their new forums for democratic, economic and social renewal; is aware of the tradition within North East England, long supported by Labour, Liberal Democrats, Greens, and sectors of broad-based community opinion, for devolution of powers away from Whitehall and Westminster; notes the existence of the first major non-party campaign for devolution in England, the Campaign for a Northern Assembly, which was established in 1992 and continues to receive backing from various elements of north eastern life; wholeheartedly supports the current work undertaken by the first convention on devolution south of the Scottish border, the North East Constitutional Convention; believes that the convention, chaired by the Bishop of Durham, seeking to bring diverse strands of political, social, and cultural opinion together to unite behind a blueprint for an assembly in a spirit of consensus, will succeed in its aims; and welcomes all efforts to speed up the process for the implementation of devolution for North East England, and for other English regions too if they wish it, in order that they too can join Scottish, Welsh, and London counterparts in embracing the positive benefits of decentralised decision-making.

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs.

Fraser Kemp20/07/1999Houghton & Washington EastLabourProposed
Denis Murphy20/07/1999WansbeckLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell20/07/1999Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Clark20/07/1999South ShieldsLabourSigned
Frank Cook20/07/1999Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Giles Radice21/07/1999North DurhamLabourSigned
Nigel Jones21/07/1999CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd21/07/1999Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
John McDonnell21/07/1999Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
John McWilliam21/07/1999BlaydonLabourSigned
Bill Etherington21/07/1999Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Maria Fyfe21/07/1999Glasgow, MaryhillLabourSigned
Donald Gorrie22/07/1999Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew22/07/1999StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Julie Morgan22/07/1999Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Alan Campbell22/07/1999TynemouthLabourSigned
Jim Cousins23/07/1999Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Vincent Cable26/07/1999TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer26/07/1999KeighleyLabourSigned
Norman Godman26/07/1999Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Simon Hughes27/07/1999North Southwark & BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Win Griffiths27/07/1999BridgendLabourSigned
Paul Flynn27/07/1999Newport WestLabourSigned
Russell Brown27/07/1999DumfriesLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn27/07/1999JarrowLabourSigned
Nick Harvey27/07/1999North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Derek Foster19/10/1999Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
Alan Beith19/10/1999Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Clarke20/10/1999MidlothianLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell21/10/1999Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Dafydd Wigley21/10/1999CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.