Parliament Website

Energy Charges And The Fuel Poor

EDM number 882 in 1998-99, proposed by Alan Simpson on 26/07/1999.

That this House congratulates Scottish Power on their commitment radically to reduce the burden of charges which fall upon the fuel poor; endorses their package, which includes a 'lifeline' rate for the poor, a three year energy conservation programme funded by shareholders, reduction of standing charges to 55 pence per month, no winter disconnections, unit charges of four pence per kWh, and a price rebate of ú25 million shared between all customers; and calls on Scottish Power to make this commitment in the UK as well as in Utah, USA, as part of their takeover bid for Pacificorp.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Alan Simpson26/07/1999Nottingham SouthLabourProposed
Brian Iddon27/07/1999Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Oona King27/07/1999Bethnal Green & BowLabourSigned
John McDonnell27/07/1999Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Bill Michie27/07/1999Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn27/07/1999Islington NorthLabourSigned
Terry Davis27/07/1999Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Paul Flynn27/07/1999Newport WestLabourSigned
Harry Barnes27/07/1999North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Rudi Vis27/07/1999Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Denis Murphy19/10/1999WansbeckLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster19/10/1999Hastings & RyeLabourSigned
Robert Wareing19/10/1999Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin20/10/1999Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Audrey Wise20/10/1999PrestonLabourSigned
Norman Godman20/10/1999Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Ian Gibson20/10/1999Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Eric Clarke20/10/1999MidlothianLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins21/10/1999Luton NorthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones21/10/1999Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Russell Brown21/10/1999DumfriesLabourSigned
Margaret Ewing21/10/1999MorayScottish National PartySigned
Maria Fyfe21/10/1999Glasgow, MaryhillLabourSigned
John Austin21/10/1999Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell21/10/1999Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Dafydd Wigley21/10/1999CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Elfyn Llwyd25/10/1999Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Brian White08/11/1999North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.