Parliament Website

The Welsh Trust For Prevention Of Abuse

EDM number 585 in 1999-00, proposed by Richard Livsey on 30/03/2000.

That this House, noting the innumerable lives scarred by physical, sexual, psychological and emotional abuse, welcomes the launch of the Welsh Trust for Prevention of Abuse at a reception in the House of Lords on Tuesday 4th April; endorses the aims of the trust to prevent paedophiles infiltrating the child care system by a strong and reliable vetting procedure, to protect children from sexual and physical abuse, to include within its remit protection for the elderly and those with learning disabilities, and to liaising closely with the churches in Wales, the police, the Missing Person's Bureau and many voluntary and statutory care providers; further notes that the trust will work to secure the implementations of the recommendations of the Waterhouse Report; and extends to all those involved in this laudable project its very best wishes for every possible future success.

This motion has been signed by a total of 55 MPs.

Richard Livsey30/03/2000Brecon & RadnorshireLiberal DemocratProposed
Evan Harris30/03/2000Oxford West & AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams30/03/2000ConwyLabourSigned
Alan Williams30/03/2000Carmarthen East & DinefwrLabourSigned
Alan Williams30/03/2000Swansea WestLabourSigned
Dafydd Wigley30/03/2000CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Jenny Tonge30/03/2000Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Beith30/03/2000Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Jackie Ballard30/03/2000TauntonLiberal DemocratSigned
Win Griffiths30/03/2000BridgendLabourSigned
Andrew George30/03/2000St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Don Foster30/03/2000BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn30/03/2000Newport WestLabourSigned
Ronnie Fearn30/03/2000SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Ewing30/03/2000MorayScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Jones30/03/2000Clwyd SouthLabourSigned
Huw Edwards30/03/2000MonmouthLabourSigned
Barry Jones30/03/2000Alyn & DeesideLabourSigned
Jon Owen Jones30/03/2000Cardiff CentralLabour Co-operativeSigned
Nigel Jones30/03/2000CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Archy Kirkwood30/03/2000Roxburgh & BerwickshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Jackie Lawrence30/03/2000Preseli PembrokeshireLabourSigned
Tom Brake30/03/2000Carshalton & WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Brand30/03/2000Isle of WightLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Burstow30/03/2000Sutton & CheamLiberal DemocratSigned
Vincent Cable30/03/2000TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton30/03/2000GowerLabourSigned
Ron Davies30/03/2000CaerphillyLabourSigned
Raymond Powell03/04/2000OgmoreLabourSigned
Chris Ruane03/04/2000Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Frank Cook03/04/2000Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn03/04/2000Islington NorthLabourSigned
Tom Cox03/04/2000TootingLabourSigned
John Austin03/04/2000Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Gareth Thomas03/04/2000Clwyd WestLabourSigned
Bill Michie04/04/2000Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
Harry Barnes04/04/2000North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Lynne Jones05/04/2000Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
John Cummings05/04/2000EasingtonLabourSigned
Norman Godman05/04/2000Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Tommy Graham05/04/2000West RenfrewshireIndependent LabourSigned
Nick Harvey06/04/2000North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell06/04/2000Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell06/04/2000Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Harold Best07/04/2000Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Simon Thomas11/04/2000CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Kevin McNamara12/04/2000Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis12/04/2000Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Ann Cryer17/04/2000KeighleyLabourSigned
Allan Rogers18/04/2000RhonddaLabourSigned
Bill Etherington18/04/2000Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Simon Hughes20/04/2000North Southwark & BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Lembit 20/04/2000MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby02/05/2000Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Denzil Davies22/05/2000LlanelliLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.