Parliament Website

Centre For Organic Excellence In Wales

EDM number 948 in 1999-00, proposed by Jackie Lawrence on 11/07/2000.

That this House congratulates the National Assembly for Wales and Welsh Secretary for Agriculture Christine Gwyther in their work to promote organic farming in Wales; welcomes the opening this week of the Centre for Organic Excellence at the University of Wales Aberystwyth; and welcomes the partnership between the Welsh Development Agency, the University in Aberystwyth, IGER and the Organic Advisory Service which now offers advice and training on organic agriculture to farmers and others connected to the agricultural industry in Wales with the objective of enabling Welsh farmers to capitalise on the demand for organic produce estimated to be worth ú1 billion to the UK by 2001 and provide the opportunity to reduce the level of imports of organic produce into the UK which currently stands at 70 per cent. of demand.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Jackie Lawrence11/07/2000Preseli PembrokeshireLabourProposed
Julie Morgan11/07/2000Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Raymond Powell11/07/2000OgmoreLabourSigned
Jon Owen Jones11/07/2000Cardiff CentralLabour Co-operativeSigned
Alun Michael11/07/2000Cardiff South & PenarthLabour Co-operativeSigned
Martin Caton11/07/2000GowerLabourSigned
Huw Edwards11/07/2000MonmouthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn11/07/2000Newport WestLabourSigned
Donald Anderson11/07/2000Swansea EastLabourSigned
Alan Williams11/07/2000Swansea WestLabourSigned
Gareth Thomas12/07/2000Clwyd WestLabourSigned
Harry Barnes12/07/2000North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Win Griffiths12/07/2000BridgendLabourSigned
Frank Cook12/07/2000Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Eric Clarke12/07/2000MidlothianLabourSigned
Lynne Jones12/07/2000Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Alan Simpson12/07/2000Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Chris Ruane12/07/2000Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice12/07/2000PendleLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd12/07/2000Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Nigel Jones13/07/2000CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
John Austin13/07/2000Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Jenny Tonge13/07/2000Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Williams13/07/2000Carmarthen East & DinefwrLabourSigned
David Drew17/07/2000StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Jeremy Corbyn17/07/2000Islington NorthLabourSigned
Barry Jones17/07/2000Alyn & DeesideLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock18/07/2000Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Robert Marshall-Andrews19/07/2000MedwayLabourSigned
Ann Cryer19/07/2000KeighleyLabourSigned
Jenny Jones20/07/2000Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Martyn Jones24/07/2000Clwyd SouthLabourSigned
Gwyn Prosser25/07/2000DoverLabourSigned
Rudi Vis25/07/2000Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
John McDonnell27/07/2000Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Harry Cohen27/07/2000Leyton & WansteadLabourSigned
Irene Adams27/07/2000Paisley NorthLabourSigned
Betty Williams28/07/2000ConwyLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.