Parliament Website

Dismissal Of Jose Bustani

EDM number 1188 in 2001-02, proposed by Harold Best on 24/04/2002.

That this House notes with dismay that her Majesty's Government was the first member state to co-sponsor the US resolution to dismiss Jose Bustani from his position as Director General of the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons; expresses its deep concern over the grounds given for his dismissal given the truly impressive record of Mr Bustani in his efforts to eliminate chemical weapons destroying two-thirds of the world's chemical weapons facilities; and urges the Government to ensure that the vital work of the OPCW in securing state co-operation in the destruction of chemical weapons will henceforth be allowed to continue unhindered.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

Harold Best24/04/2002Leeds North WestLabourProposed
Alice Mahon24/04/2002HalifaxLabourSigned
Lynne Jones25/04/2002Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
David Lepper25/04/2002Brighton, PavilionLabour Co-operativeSigned
Vincent Cable25/04/2002TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Thomas25/04/2002CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Simpson25/04/2002Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Tom Cox26/04/2002TootingLabourSigned
John Austin26/04/2002Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Robert Wareing26/04/2002Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Annabelle Ewing29/04/2002PerthScottish National PartySigned
David Taylor29/04/2002North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Paul Flynn29/04/2002Newport WestLabourSigned
Terry Davis29/04/2002Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Michael Clapham29/04/2002Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara30/04/2002Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Colin Breed30/04/2002South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Jon Trickett01/05/2002HemsworthLabourSigned
Harry Barnes01/05/2002North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Diane Abbott01/05/2002Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Jim Cousins01/05/2002Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Ann Clwyd01/05/2002Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara01/05/2002Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Paul Marsden01/05/2002Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
John Lyons01/05/2002Strathkelvin & BearsdenLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd01/05/2002Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Tony Lloyd01/05/2002Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins01/05/2002Luton NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell01/05/2002Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn02/05/2002Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer02/05/2002KeighleyLabourSigned
Bill Etherington02/05/2002Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Adam Price07/05/2002Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Nigel Jones07/05/2002CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
George Mudie08/05/2002Leeds EastLabourSigned
David Heath09/05/2002Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew09/05/2002StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Matthew Green10/05/2002LudlowLiberal DemocratSigned
John Cryer14/05/2002HornchurchLabourSigned
Helen Clark16/05/2002PeterboroughLabourSigned
Edward Davey16/05/2002Kingston & SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis16/05/2002Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Tam Dalyell21/05/2002LinlithgowLabourSigned
George Galloway10/06/2002Glasgow, KelvinLabourSigned
Brian White10/06/2002North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned
Phil Sawford12/06/2002KetteringLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.