Parliament Website

Agrimonetary Compensation For Scottish Farmers

EDM number 1303 in 2001-02, proposed by John Thurso on 14/05/2002.

That this House recalls the European Commission's original deadline for applications for agrimonetary compensation of 10th April and its subsequent extension to 30th April; notes the European Commission's delay in confirming the eligibility of any UK application for agrimonetary compensation and its willingness to consider any UK application after 30th April; further notes the devolved administrations' support for the draw-down of agrimonetary compensation; recognises the pound-euro exchange rate which has made it difficult for Scottish farmers to export their products to the EU; notes that the European Commission's calculations of future agrimonetary compensation are determined on previous uptake of such funds; notes the Government's decision not to apply for agrimonetary compensation; further notes the National Union of Scotland's estimates that agrimonetary compensation in Scotland would be worth ú4.3 million for dairy farmers, ú5.6 million for beef farmers and ú1.9 million for sheep farmers; and calls upon the Government to reconsider its decision and apply for agrimonetary compensation to help provide support for Scottish farmers.

This motion has been signed by a total of 19 MPs.

John Thurso14/05/2002Caithness, Sutherland & Easter RossLiberal DemocratProposed
Robert Smith14/05/2002West Aberdeenshire & KincardineLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Moore14/05/2002Tweeddale, Ettrick & LauderdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Malcolm Bruce14/05/2002GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Menzies Campbell14/05/2002Fife North EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Alistair Carmichael14/05/2002Orkney & ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Duncan15/05/2002Galloway & Upper NithsdaleConservativeSigned
Annabelle Ewing15/05/2002PerthScottish National PartySigned
Paul Tyler16/05/2002North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward Davey16/05/2002Kingston & SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alex Salmond20/05/2002Banff & BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Nigel Jones20/05/2002CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon21/05/2002North DownUUPSigned
John Barrett22/05/2002Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Weir23/05/2002AngusScottish National PartySigned
Roy Beggs23/05/2002East AntrimUUPSigned
David Burnside23/05/2002South AntrimUUPSigned
Angus Robertson23/05/2002MorayScottish National PartySigned
Archy Kirkwood10/06/2002Roxburgh & BerwickshireLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.