Parliament Website

Fire Service Dispute

EDM number 1783 in 2001-02, proposed by John McDonnell on 21/10/2002.

That this House recognises the excellent service provided to our community by the Fire Service and acknowledges the strength of feeling amongst firefighters on the issue of pay, which has led to such an overwhelming vote for industrial action; notes that the Government's review will not report until after the commencement of the planned industrial action and has not gained the confidence of the Fire Brigades Union; and thus calls upon the Prime Minister to intervene personally by convening an urgent meeting of the Fire Service employers and the FBU with the aim of seeking to restart talks in order to prevent the need for industrial action in this vital emergency service.

This motion has been signed by a total of 47 MPs.

John McDonnell21/10/2002Hayes & HarlingtonLabourProposed
Alan Simpson21/10/2002Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Robert Wareing21/10/2002Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
David Taylor21/10/2002North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Neil Gerrard21/10/2002WalthamstowLabourSigned
Ian Davidson21/10/2002Glasgow, PollokLabour Co-operativeSigned
Jeremy Corbyn21/10/2002Islington NorthLabourSigned
Frank Cook21/10/2002Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Marshall21/10/2002Leicester SouthLabourSigned
Terry Lewis21/10/2002WorsleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins21/10/2002Luton NorthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis22/10/2002Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Simon Thomas22/10/2002CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Harold Best22/10/2002Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Harry Barnes22/10/2002North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
John Austin22/10/2002Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Annabelle Ewing22/10/2002PerthScottish National PartySigned
Jim Dobbin22/10/2002Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Andrew Dismore22/10/2002HendonLabourSigned
John Cryer22/10/2002HornchurchLabourSigned
Harry Cohen22/10/2002Leyton & WansteadLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell22/10/2002Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alice Mahon22/10/2002HalifaxLabourSigned
Lynne Jones22/10/2002Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Dai Havard22/10/2002Merthyr Tydfil & RhymneyLabourSigned
Llew Smith22/10/2002Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner22/10/2002BolsoverLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar22/10/2002Glasgow, GovanLabourSigned
Adam Price22/10/2002Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Ann Cryer22/10/2002KeighleyLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara23/10/2002Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Diane Abbott23/10/2002Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
David Drew23/10/2002StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Hilton Dawson23/10/2002Lancaster & WyreLabourSigned
John Cummings23/10/2002EasingtonLabourSigned
Helen Clark23/10/2002PeterboroughLabourSigned
Martin Caton23/10/2002GowerLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara23/10/2002Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Paul Marsden23/10/2002Shrewsbury & AtchamLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd23/10/2002Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Eric Illsley23/10/2002Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Angus Robertson24/10/2002MorayScottish National PartySigned
Michael Clapham24/10/2002Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Robert Marshall-Andrews28/10/2002MedwayLabourSigned
David Hamilton29/10/2002MidlothianLabourSigned
Bill Etherington30/10/2002Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Kate Hoey05/11/2002VauxhallLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.