Parliament Website

Bodyshop Human Rights Awards 2002

EDM number 1834 in 2001-02, proposed by Michael Connarty on 29/10/2002.

That this House congratulates the Body Shop Human Rights Award Committee for recognising the importance of the right to housing in 2002; notes the award to the value of three hundred thousand dollars was shared by the Romani Baht Foundation representing Roma people in Sofia, Bulgaria, by the National Committee for the Defence of the Rights of the Internally Displaced in Israel, by the ILISHE Trust representing the Majaoni community and the slum dwellers of Mombasa, Kenya and by COPINH representing the indigenous and popular organisations in Honduras; and calls on the Government to recognise and give priority to the right to adequate housing as a basis human rights in the United Kingdom and in its contacts with other governments in Europe and the world.

This motion has been signed by a total of 47 MPs.

Michael Connarty29/10/2002Falkirk EastLabourProposed
Martin O'Neill29/10/2002OchilLabourSigned
Vera Baird29/10/2002RedcarLabourSigned
Angus Robertson30/10/2002MorayScottish National PartySigned
Harry Barnes30/10/2002North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
David Hamilton30/10/2002MidlothianLabourSigned
Frank Field30/10/2002BirkenheadLabourSigned
Julia Drown30/10/2002South SwindonLabourSigned
Terry Davis30/10/2002Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Martin Caton30/10/2002GowerLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd30/10/2002Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Tony Lloyd30/10/2002Manchester CentralLabourSigned
David Lepper30/10/2002Brighton, PavilionLabour Co-operativeSigned
Mark Lazarowicz30/10/2002Edinburgh North & LeithLabour Co-operativeSigned
Ashok Kumar30/10/2002Middlesbrough South & East ClevelandLabourSigned
Alan Simpson30/10/2002Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Christine Russell30/10/2002Chester, City ofLabourSigned
Ernie Ross30/10/2002Dundee WestLabourSigned
Paul Tyler31/10/2002North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Desmond Turner31/10/2002Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Andrew George31/10/2002St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Dismore31/10/2002HendonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer31/10/2002KeighleyLabourSigned
Harry Cohen31/10/2002Leyton & WansteadLabourSigned
Eric Illsley31/10/2002Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Simon Hughes31/10/2002North Southwark & BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Wayne David31/10/2002CaerphillyLabourSigned
Lynne Jones04/11/2002Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Jeff Ennis04/11/2002Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned
Win Griffiths04/11/2002BridgendLabourSigned
Harold Best04/11/2002Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt04/11/2002Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
Greg Pope05/11/2002HyndburnLabourSigned
John McDonnell06/11/2002Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn06/11/2002Newport WestLabourSigned
Annabelle Ewing06/11/2002PerthScottish National PartySigned
David Drew06/11/2002StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Tom Cox06/11/2002TootingLabourSigned
Tony Colman06/11/2002PutneyLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell06/11/2002Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Meale06/11/2002MansfieldLabourSigned
Nigel Jones06/11/2002CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Syd Rapson07/11/2002Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham07/11/2002Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn07/11/2002Islington NorthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin07/11/2002Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
John Barrett07/11/2002Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.