Parliament Website

Referendum On A North-East Regional Assembly

EDM number 199 in 2001-02, proposed by Joyce Quin on 19/07/2001.

That this House welcomes devolution for Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland; notes that the North East of England has not yet had the opportunity to opt for a powerful, democratically elected Assembly for the region; is aware of long-standing interest in the region for devolution and of the increasing demand within the region for a new, inclusive and powerful voice for the area; welcomes the Government's proposal for a White Paper on devolution later this year, outlining options both for the North East and for other regions which seek a greater say over their political, economics, social and cultural affairs; and calls on the Government to consult with the various bodies in the North East over the contents of the White Paper with a view to paving the way for an early referendum in the region on the setting up of a regional assembly.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Joyce Quin19/07/2001Gateshead East & Washington WestLabourProposed
Gerry Steinberg19/07/2001Durham, City ofLabourSigned
Vera Baird19/07/2001RedcarLabourSigned
John Cummings19/07/2001EasingtonLabourSigned
Jim Cousins19/07/2001Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Frank Cook19/07/2001Stockton NorthLabourSigned
David Clelland19/07/2001Tyne BridgeLabourSigned
Chris Mullin19/07/2001Sunderland SouthLabourSigned
John McWilliam19/07/2001BlaydonLabourSigned
Peter Mandelson19/07/2001HartlepoolLabourSigned
Ashok Kumar19/07/2001Middlesbrough South & East ClevelandLabourSigned
Kevan Jones19/07/2001North DurhamLabourSigned
Dari Taylor19/07/2001Stockton SouthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn20/07/2001Islington NorthLabourSigned
Doug Henderson14/09/2001Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis14/09/2001Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Eric Illsley24/10/2001Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Wayne David25/10/2001CaerphillyLabourSigned
Malcolm Bruce26/10/2001GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington26/10/2001Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
David Borrow29/10/2001South RibbleLabourSigned
David Drew01/11/2001StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Andrew George05/11/2001St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Davidson09/11/2001Glasgow, PollokLabour Co-operativeSigned
Bill Tynan12/11/2001Hamilton SouthLabourSigned
David Hamilton19/11/2001MidlothianLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.