Parliament Website

Channel 4 Drama And Railway Safety

EDM number 509 in 2001-02, proposed by Ashok Kumar on 04/12/2001.

That this House congratulates Channel 4 for screening 'The Navigators' on Sunday 2nd December; praises the cast and crew for continuing the burgeoning Channel 4 tradition of creating thought-provoking, fact-ional drama along the lines of GBH and Dockers; acknowledges the programme as a hard-hitting, and realistic portrayal of the impact on the railway system and railway safety of ill-thought out privatisation in the early 1990's; and calls on the Government to ensure that whatever changes are effected in the railway network as a result of Railtrack going into administration, safety remains the number one priority.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

Ashok Kumar04/12/2001Middlesbrough South & East ClevelandLabourProposed
Syd Rapson04/12/2001Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle04/12/2001ChorleyLabourSigned
Peter Kilfoyle04/12/2001Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
George Mudie04/12/2001Leeds EastLabourSigned
Denis Murphy04/12/2001WansbeckLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell04/12/2001Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Crausby04/12/2001Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Win Griffiths04/12/2001BridgendLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner05/12/2001BolsoverLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/12/2001Luton NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton05/12/2001GowerLabourSigned
Harry Barnes05/12/2001North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Harold Best05/12/2001Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt05/12/2001Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
Ian Gibson06/12/2001Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Helen Clark06/12/2001PeterboroughLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore06/12/2001HendonLabourSigned
Meg Munn11/12/2001Sheffield, HeeleyLabour Co-operativeSigned
Russell Brown11/12/2001DumfriesLabourSigned
Ann Cryer11/12/2001KeighleyLabourSigned
Terry Davis11/12/2001Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Jeff Ennis12/12/2001Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned
Paul Truswell12/12/2001PudseyLabourSigned
Nigel Jones12/12/2001CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey12/12/2001North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alex Salmond12/12/2001Banff & BuchanScottish National PartySigned
John Cryer13/12/2001HornchurchLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin13/12/2001Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
John McDonnell17/12/2001Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Bill Etherington17/12/2001Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson18/12/2001Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn18/12/2001Newport WestLabourSigned
Rudi Vis18/12/2001Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Eric Illsley19/12/2001Barnsley CentralLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.