Parliament Website

Llandogo - Monmouth Bus Service

EDM number 567 in 2001-02, proposed by Huw Edwards on 12/12/2001.

That this House deplores the overcrowding on the Stagecoach 69 bus carrying pupils from the village of Llandogo to and from Monmouth Comprehensive School and the refusal of Stagecoach to provide a duplicate bus; is disturbed that current transport regulations permit a 48-seater scheduled bus to carry up to 72 seated pupils under 14 years and up to 20 additional passengers standing; believes that such overcrowding poses increased risks on longer distances in rural areas; notes that designated school transport buses require pupils to wear safety belts, permitting only one pupil per seat and no standing passengers; requests that contracts between local authorities and scheduled bus operators should ensure that pupils are transported safely, avoiding overcrowding and stress; and calls on the Government and the National Assembly for Wales to end the concession permitting three pupils under 14 years to sit on a double seat on a scheduled bus service.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

Huw Edwards12/12/2001MonmouthLabourProposed
Wayne David12/12/2001CaerphillyLabourSigned
Julie Morgan12/12/2001Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Geraint Davies12/12/2001Croydon CentralLabourSigned
David Drew12/12/2001StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Hywel Francis12/12/2001AberavonLabourSigned
Barry Gardiner12/12/2001Brent NorthLabourSigned
Win Griffiths12/12/2001BridgendLabourSigned
Patrick Hall12/12/2001BedfordLabourSigned
Candy Atherton12/12/2001Falmouth & CamborneLabourSigned
Roger Berry12/12/2001KingswoodLabourSigned
David Borrow12/12/2001South RibbleLabourSigned
Mark Tami12/12/2001Alyn & DeesideLabourSigned
Simon Thomas12/12/2001CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Brian White12/12/2001North East Milton KeynesLabourSigned
Betty Williams12/12/2001ConwyLabourSigned
Hywel Williams12/12/2001CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Roger Williams12/12/2001Brecon & RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Clapham12/12/2001Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Adam Price12/12/2001Carmarthen East & DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Ruane12/12/2001Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Alan Simpson12/12/2001Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Dai Havard12/12/2001Merthyr Tydfil & RhymneyLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn12/12/2001JarrowLabourSigned
Alan Howarth12/12/2001Newport EastLabourSigned
Martyn Jones12/12/2001Clwyd SouthLabourSigned
David Lepper12/12/2001Brighton, PavilionLabour Co-operativeSigned
Lembit 12/12/2001MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Diana Organ12/12/2001Forest of DeanLabourSigned
Albert Owen12/12/2001Ynys MLabourSigned
Kevin Brennan12/12/2001Cardiff WestLabourSigned
Martin Caton12/12/2001GowerLabourSigned
Ann Clwyd12/12/2001Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Keen12/12/2001Feltham & HestonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Jim Dobbin13/12/2001Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Harry Barnes13/12/2001North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden13/12/2001Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner17/12/2001BolsoverLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara18/12/2001Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer18/12/2001KeighleyLabourSigned
Paul Flynn18/12/2001Newport WestLabourSigned
Rudi Vis18/12/2001Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Phil Sawford19/12/2001KetteringLabourSigned
Ian Lucas21/01/2002WrexhamLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.