Parliament Website

Euro Referendum Bill

EDM number 1733 in 2002-03, proposed by Ian Davidson on 14/10/2003.

That this House welcomes the result of the Swedish Euro Referendum; notes that in a Demoskop poll published in November 2002, when the referendum was called, the Yes side were leading by 45 per cent. to 39 per cent.; further notes that after a campaign in which virtually the entire political and business establishment urged a Yes vote and Yes outspent No by a margin of 9 to 1, the Swedish people voted No by 56 per cent. to 42 cent.; recognises that there will be no euro referendum in Britain before the next general election; and therefore believes that neither space in the Queen's Speech nor time in Parliament's next session should be wasted on any euro referendum bill when there are so many other, better things to be done.

This motion has been signed by a total of 17 MPs.

Ian Davidson14/10/2003Glasgow, PollokLabour Co-operativeProposed
Kate Hoey14/10/2003VauxhallLabourSigned
Colin Challen14/10/2003Morley & RothwellLabourSigned
Ann Cryer14/10/2003KeighleyLabourSigned
Frank Field14/10/2003BirkenheadLabourSigned
David Taylor14/10/2003North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Roger Godsiff15/10/2003Birmingham, Sparkbrook & Small HeathLabourSigned
Graham Stringer15/10/2003Manchester, BlackleyLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell15/10/2003Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins15/10/2003Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Drew16/10/2003StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
John Cryer20/10/2003HornchurchLabourSigned
Jimmy Wray21/10/2003Glasgow, BailliestonLabourSigned
Andrew Rosindell22/10/2003RomfordConservativeSigned
Colin Burgon27/10/2003ElmetLabourSigned
John McDonnell28/10/2003Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alan Simpson03/11/2003Nottingham SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.