Parliament Website


EDM number 337 in 2002-03, proposed by Ann Winterton on 10/12/2002.

That this House notes that the Government proposes to fund the additional costs to Cheshire County Council, as a result of implementing Article 16(2) of EC Regulation 2037/00 on Ozone Depleting Substances, in the period from 1st April 2002 to 31st March 2003, by means of a special grant allocation of ú442,130; further notes that the estimated actual cost by Cheshire County Council for the storage and disposal of redundant refrigerators during this time period is ú620,000, and that in addition to the estimated cost to Vale Royal Borough Council of ú20,000, unknown costs for the collection of redundant refrigerators are also being incurred by Chester City Council, Congleton Borough Council, Crewe and Nantwich Borough Council, Ellesmere Port and Neston Borough Council and Macclesfield Borough Council; recognises thereby that the total extra cost in Cheshire is in excess of ú640,000; and, in view of the statement by the Minister for the Environment, the Right honourable Member for Oldham West and Royton on local authority funding that 'We are ... taking the realistic view that if extra duties are imposed they should be reasonably funded. That is the Government's policy' (Official Report, 14th January, column 125), calls upon the Government to make clear how it intends to fund the shortfall in Cheshire which will not be less than ú197,870.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Jonathan Sayeed10/12/2002Mid BedfordshireConservativeSigned
John Hayes10/12/2002South Holland & The DeepingsConservativeSigned
David Lidington10/12/2002AylesburyConservativeSigned
Stephen O'Brien10/12/2002EddisburyConservativeSigned
George Osborne10/12/2002TattonConservativeSigned
James Gray10/12/2002North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Ann Winterton10/12/2002CongletonConservativeSigned
Bob Spink11/12/2002Castle PointConservativeSigned
Nicholas Winterton11/12/2002MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Sue Doughty16/12/2002GuildfordLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Murrison17/12/2002WestburyConservativeSigned
Bill Wiggin17/12/2002LeominsterConservativeSigned
Peter Duncan18/12/2002Galloway & Upper NithsdaleConservativeSigned
Angela Watkinson18/12/2002UpminsterConservativeSigned
Howard Flight18/12/2002Arundel & South DownsConservativeSigned
Anne McIntosh19/12/2002Vale of YorkConservativeSigned
John Randall07/01/2003UxbridgeConservativeSigned
Nigel Jones13/01/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Hunter14/01/2003BasingstokeIndependent ConservativeSigned
Peter Luff16/01/2003Mid WorcestershireConservativeSigned
Philip Hammond25/02/2003Runnymede & WeybridgeConservativeSigned
Edward Garnier17/03/2003HarboroughConservativeSigned
Nigel Evans19/03/2003Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Andrew Selous24/03/2003South West BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Julian Lewis31/03/2003New Forest EastConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.