Parliament Website


EDM number 342 in 2002-03, proposed by Mark Prisk on 10/12/2002.

That this House notes that the Government proposes to fund the additional costs to Hertfordshire County Council, as a result of implementing Article 16(2) of EC Regulation 2037/00 on Ozone Depleting Substances, in the period from 1st April 2002 to 31st March 2003, by means of a special grant allocation of ú790,169; further notes that the estimated actual cost to Hertfordshire County Council for the storage and disposal of redundant refrigerators during this period is ú1,100,000, and that in addition to the estimated cost to Broxbourne Borough Council, East Hertfordshire District Council and Hertsmere Borough Council, Three Rivers District Council of ú30,954, ú22,000, ú55,575 and ú63,587 respectively, unknown costs for the collection of redundant refrigerators are also being incurred by Dacorum Borough Council, North Hertfordshire District Council, Stevenage Borough Council, Watford Borough Council and Welwyn Hatfield District Council; recognises thereby that the total extra cost in Hertfordshire County Council is in excess of ú1,272,116; and, in view of the statement by the Minister for the Environment, the Right honourable Member for Oldham, West and Royton on local authority funding that 'We are ... taking the realistic view that if extra duties are imposed they should be reasonably funded. That is the Government's policy' (Official Report, 14th January, c125), calls upon the Government to make clear how it intends to fund the shortfall in Hertfordshire County Council which will not be less than ú481,947.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Mark Prisk10/12/2002Hertford & StortfordConservativeProposed
Jonathan Sayeed10/12/2002Mid BedfordshireConservativeSigned
John Hayes10/12/2002South Holland & The DeepingsConservativeSigned
Oliver Heald10/12/2002North East HertfordshireConservativeSigned
David Lidington10/12/2002AylesburyConservativeSigned
Peter Lilley10/12/2002Hitchin & HarpendenConservativeSigned
Richard Page10/12/2002South West HertfordshireConservativeSigned
James Gray10/12/2002North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Bob Spink11/12/2002Castle PointConservativeSigned
Marion Roe16/12/2002BroxbourneConservativeSigned
Sue Doughty16/12/2002GuildfordLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Murrison17/12/2002WestburyConservativeSigned
Bill Wiggin17/12/2002LeominsterConservativeSigned
Peter Duncan18/12/2002Galloway & Upper NithsdaleConservativeSigned
Angela Watkinson18/12/2002UpminsterConservativeSigned
Howard Flight18/12/2002Arundel & South DownsConservativeSigned
Anne McIntosh19/12/2002Vale of YorkConservativeSigned
John Randall07/01/2003UxbridgeConservativeSigned
Nigel Jones13/01/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Hunter14/01/2003BasingstokeIndependent ConservativeSigned
Peter Luff16/01/2003Mid WorcestershireConservativeSigned
Philip Hammond25/02/2003Runnymede & WeybridgeConservativeSigned
Edward Garnier17/03/2003HarboroughConservativeSigned
Nigel Evans19/03/2003Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Andrew Selous24/03/2003South West BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Julian Lewis31/03/2003New Forest EastConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.