Parliament Website

Employee Ownership, Motivation And Productivity

EDM number 349 in 2002-03, proposed by Mark Lazarowicz on 11/12/2002.

That this House welcomes the interim findings of the research report 'Employee Ownership, Motivation and Productivity' written by Birkbeck College, London and the Work Foundation on behalf of Employees Direct; notes that the Government recognises that employee share ownership can improve company performance and has an active policy agenda to improve the take-up of such schemes; notes that this new research shows that share ownership without employee involvement has little or no impact on performance; accordingly calls upon the Government to ensure that tax breaks for employee share ownership schemes should be designed so as to encourage those schemes that provide for genuine employee involvement.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Mark Lazarowicz11/12/2002Edinburgh North & LeithLabour Co-operativeProposed
Dennis Turner11/12/2002Wolverhampton South EastLabour Co-operativeSigned
David Taylor11/12/2002North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
George Foulkes11/12/2002Carrick, Cumnock and Doon ValleyLabour Co-operativeSigned
Jim Dobbin11/12/2002Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Doug Naysmith11/12/2002Bristol North WestLabour Co-operativeSigned
Andrew Love11/12/2002EdmontonLabour Co-operativeSigned
David Lepper11/12/2002Brighton, PavilionLabour Co-operativeSigned
Jon Owen Jones11/12/2002Cardiff CentralLabour Co-operativeSigned
Ken Purchase11/12/2002Wolverhampton North EastLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Eric Illsley12/12/2002Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Lynne Jones12/12/2002Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn12/12/2002Islington NorthLabourSigned
Valerie Davey12/12/2002Bristol WestLabourSigned
Wayne David12/12/2002CaerphillyLabourSigned
Terry Davis12/12/2002Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Robert Wareing16/12/2002Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Betty Williams16/12/2002ConwyLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara16/12/2002Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis16/12/2002Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Meg Munn17/12/2002Sheffield, HeeleyLabour Co-operativeSigned
Jeff Ennis17/12/2002Barnsley East & MexboroughLabourSigned
Alan Simpson18/12/2002Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Jim Knight18/12/2002South DorsetLabourSigned
Rob Marris18/12/2002Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Tony Colman19/12/2002PutneyLabourSigned
Richard Burden19/12/2002Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Alan Keen19/12/2002Feltham & HestonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Ann Cryer07/01/2003KeighleyLabourSigned
Adrian Bailey07/01/2003West Bromwich WestLabour Co-operativeSigned
Mark Hendrick09/01/2003PrestonLabour Co-operativeSigned
John Barrett09/01/2003Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Jones13/01/2003CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Barry Sheerman16/01/2003HuddersfieldLabour Co-operativeSigned
Janet Dean21/01/2003BurtonLabourSigned
Harold Best21/01/2003Leeds North WestLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.